Hello Blog!

So approximately a week ago I decided to re-vamp my eating style, switching from the eat-whatevers-available method with a focus on fast food to the put-more-thought-into-your-meals method with a focus on more veggies, eating whole, unprocessed foods, and making sure the meat and other animal products I eat were raised without antibiotics/growth hormones/etc. I also decided to start a blog, and it took me approximately 1 week to write the about-me section. Yikes. The site is definitely still a work in progress but I figure I better start writing before I give up on the idea totally.

From this..... (delicious)

To This... (Delicious AND Nutritious)

I must admit, since I started this whole foods thing, I have had so much fun! For the first time ever I’m actually enjoying trying to cook new things, figure out what to have for dinner, and find places that have local, sustainable,and/or unprocessed things at non-astronomical prices.  Surprisingly there are a lot of places/opportunities in Cleveland that support this kind of lifestyle…who knew?

My experimentation in the kitchen has drifted into my daily life as well. Finally, after a year of “meaning to” go to one of the group runs run out of our local specialty running store, Second Sole, I finally went last night. For almost all of my casual running life I have been a lone runner. When I finally found a group in Philadelphia it was time to move to Cleveland. Then, here in Cleveland I found a running buddy who I thoroughly enjoyed running with. We ran together a couple times a week from April to July, and then she got a job a couple hours away. Awesome for her, not so awesome for me. Until last night, when I got up the guts to try out this new group. I was nervous all day yesterday… would it be a disaster? would they be too fast? would I totally embarass myself?

Would this be my fate?

It was awesome! I ran with the “slower” group, which was a group of 7 or so 40-60 year old men. I don’t know if I was just craving running with people or what, but I had a blast. They were so inviting, we ran 6 miles at about a 9:15 pace, which is slow enough that I don’t breathe like a horse and I could actually answer all the questions they would ask. There was something so invigorating about running along a dark path in pack, headlights bouncing light all over the place, listening to the banter between everyone. I can’t wait till next week!

The store had an adidas rep there as well, so we had the option of trading out our current shoes and running in the new adidas shoes. I’m never one to pass up a free trial run, and since my current shoes have wayyyyy too much mileage/months on them and I’m waiting for shoes to come in I decided to give it a go. I chose the Supernova Glide 3, the neutral shoe by Adidas, to take on my run. Personally, I’ve gotta say I’m not a fan. As a point of reference I’ve been running in Mizuno Wave Riders. Sorry Adidas, I really wanted to like you. Runners World didn’t really have much to say about them either… RunnersWorld review.

I got home around 8 and decided it was the perfect time to try out this new recipe I got from one of my FAVORITE blogs…Runners Kitchen. Find the recipe for Autumn Pasta here. Note: NOT a good idea to start cooking at 8:30 unless you don’t mind eating at 9:30pm…However it was delicious and worth every minute of post-run-hunger :). Definitely going to be cooking this guy again, Thanks Runners Kitchen!!!

And finally, the NYC marathon is on Sunday, and I’m going to nerdily watch it from my computer…GOOD LUCK RUNNERS!!!!!

I must say it would be pretty awesome to be in that mass of people one day...

One thought on “Hello Blog!

  1. So glad you liked the butternut squash-pasta recipe 🙂 And good for you for trying out a running group – moving to a new city and finding a routine is always tough. My friend who just moved to Milwaukee is currently in the process of finding people to run with…I wish there was some kind of national forum to find running buddies!

Leave a Reply

