The Polenta Experiment

It’s a general rule that the first time I cook any main ingredient I am going to mess it up somehow. I’m ok with this scenario, since I generally get it right on round 2. My hubby, however, is not so much, especially when it involves eating something he’s never had before. “POLENTA? What is that even made of?” and of course “Where’s the meat?” Thus, I have had a roll of polenta sitting in my panty for over a week now, and every time I open the door it screams “make something tasty with me!” But WHAT could I make that would be both delicious and nutritious, not have any other wonky ingredients in it, and have some form of meat in it to appease my dear husband? My trusty online searches all brought up recipes that were either so complicated I was sure to fail at them (and thus turn him away from polenta for good) or just not what I was in the mood for.

And then, in a rare moment of culinary enlightenment IT CAME TO ME. A combination of some tried and true things we’d made separately before, with the addition of polenta. Thus began the creation of polenta with spinach and scallops. And it was delicious. Here’s how it went down, play by play (serves 2):

Slice 1 roll of polenta into half-inch slices, brush with olive oil (prob don’t have to do that part) and place on a lightly oiled baking sheet or roasting pan. Place in oven set at 350 deg for 20 minutes.

Meanwhile, melt some butter in a saute pan over medium heat and saute 1 small sweet onion and however much garlic you like, I did 3 cloves but I like garlic. Once the onion starts to become translucent add some sliced mushrooms. I probably added about a cup, breaking them up in pieces as I put them in the pan. Last add some fresh baby spinach, about 10 oz. and stir until all spinach is wilted. Season as desired with salt and pepper.

In another pan melt some more butter (mmmmm buttterrrr) over medium heat and cook scallops. I used 1 lb of fresh frozen scallops, but we eat a lot. Cook fresh scallops ~3 min on each side and frozen scallops ~5-6 min on each side.

Bring out the delicious polenta from the oven, serve onto two plates. Spoon spinach/mushroom mixture over top of polenta and top with scallops.

The finished product, voila!

The best part of the meal? When we were done eating the hubster said “That was good, and I’m like 95% full, which is about 40% more full than I thought I’d be”… BA BAM! And that’s how it’s done folks! I was so proud of myself.

Bragging aside, lets talk about BUTTER! Look what I found (and of course purchased)  in the store the other day :

Practically straight from the cow...via the churn...

That, my friends, is a 2 lb log of fresh LOCAL butter. And I did the math, the price is actually about the same per pound as your average land-o-lakes variety. BOOYAH! The only time we may have problems is figuring out exactly how much a tablespoon is, but I figure guestimation will suffice. We used it for both the scallops and the veggies and it was oh so yellow melting away in the pan. Big Fan!

And now, I would like to leave anyone actually reading this blog with what is possibly my favorite all-time you-tube video…If I can correctly figure out how to insert a video into this post…ROOKIE.

One thought on “The Polenta Experiment

  1. Pingback: The Truth About Milk « eat good, live good, feel good

Leave a Reply

