Spaghetti Squash and Versatile Tortillas

I find that I have trouble thinking of titles for posts, even when I have plenty to talk about. Like the video below, which was sent to me by one of my friends in Philly.

Lets talk briefly about some of the awesome things in this video:

  1. The dog’s name is Dog. Phenomenal.
  2. “that dog got on shades?” …’nough said…Where exactly do you find Dog Goggles? Are they called Doggles?
  3. The man paid for Dog with a beer…I consider that a rescue!
  4. I have a feeling Gary Miller’s stache isn’t around for just mo-vember, that thing is classic.

I have been pretty busy lately (all day medical conference Friday and Saturday followed by sports banquets Sunday and Tuesday nights) but on Monday I managed to try a new recipe AND a new vegetable! I’ve become a big fan of stuffed acorn squash but stuffed spaghetti squash was a new one for me, and it turned out fantastic! I made a few changes to the recipe like adding ground beef, because like the polenta experiment I knew I couldn’t spring a meatless spaghetti squash on my husband and come out of it with a win. Here’s the recipe, with changes I made:

Mexican Spaghetti Squash (Thank you Edible Perspective!)

  • 1 spaghetti squash
  • 2 green peppers, diced
  • 1 onion, diced
  • cup can corn
  • 1 and 1/2 cups black beans (I used canned black beans)
  • 1 Tblsp olive oil, as needed (I used more than 1 T)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1.5 tsp cumin
  • 1.5 tsp chili powder
  • 1/8-1/2 tsp cayenne – I didn’t use this as the hubster doesn’t like heat
  • 1/4 tsp oregano – I actually completely forgot to put this in…whoops! I will definitely remember it next time.
  • 1/2 tsp coriander – we didn’t have this in the pantry
  • 1 lb grass-fed 85%-15% ground beef
  • Cheese (I used shredded cheddar) and Tortilla chips if desired

Preheat oven to 400 deg, cook spaghetti squash whole for 30 minutes on roasting pan, remove from oven, cut in half lengthwise and de-seed. Place squash cut side up back on pan and cook for 30-45 more minutes depending on size of squash.

Meanwhile, heat olive oil in pan over medium-ish heat. Add onion, garlic, and seasonings and saute for about 5 minutes. I also added the beef here, and the green peppers shortly after since I like my green peppers a little less crunchy. Add corn and beans next, cook until heated through, about 3 minutes. Add spices as needed.

Remove spaghetti squash from oven and decrease temp to 350 deg. Fill spaghetti squash with veggie mix and put back in oven at 350 for 15 minutes. Add the cheese and put back in until cheese is melted. Pretty tasty, check out the pictures on the original website, mine certainly don’t do it justice :).

Edible Perspective is a much better photographer than I am but this was deliciously tasty!

I’ve also been using tortillas a lot lately. Both for burrito-style lunches and breakfasts and quesadilla-type meals. Here are some of the fillings I’ve used, mostly using up leftovers and extras in the fridge (bonus!)

 Breakfast Burrito: Heat tortilla in microwave between two paper towels for 15 seconds. Add 2 eggs, scrambled, with cheese melted on top, 1/4 c. black beans, some fresh spinach, and a few spoonfuls of salsa. Roll up Burrito style and enjoy! (re-use the paper towels as a little burrito-holder if you’re eating on the go!

Leftovers Burrito: After making Mexican Spaghetti Squash you will likely have leftovers of the mix unless your squash were HUGE. Heat tortilla in microwave, spoon on heated leftover veggie mix, adding cheese and salsa, wrap and enjoy!

Quesadillas: Use any of the following fillings, heat a non-stick pan over medium heat. Add Tortilla, sprinkle cheese choice along one half of tortilla, add filling, and quickly fold tortilla in half quesadilla style. Heat a few minutes on each side, flipping when tortilla is crispy and cheese is melted.

Filling 1: saute onion and mushrooms until soft, add spinach and black beans until spinach is wilted and beans are heated through. Use with pepperjack cheese or cheese of choice

Filling 2: saute red onion until soft, add spinach until wilted, add some chopped turkey deli meat and black beans until heated through. Use with cheese of choice

Ladies and Gentlemen, I’m Running a 5k!

You may think “big whoop Abbey, don’t you know that the 5k is the most popular distance in amateur running” (I kind of made that up, but I don’t see how it could be wrong). I have run races of every other distance but as it turns out I have never run a 5k! I did run one 5k on the track as a time trial to figure out training paces before the 2010 National Marathon but I don’t count that because I was by myself. And there was the one cross-country race I ran in 9th grade (while still doing competitive gymnastics) which was a total bust…One of the seniors told me to go out as fast as I could and that resulted in me walking at several points in the ensuing 3 + miles…I don’t even remember my time.

I’ve gotta be honest, that memory has me a little apprehensive for Sunday’s race. I haven’t exactly trained for it, I’ve mostly been just running,ramping my  mileage up slowly and building a nice base for when I start training for the May 20th Cleveland Marathon in January. I think the best goal to have is to beat my unimpressive time-trial 5k time of 23:50…And to not go out too fast. I’ll let you know how it goes. My hubster is running the half marathon so there’s sure to be a good story between the two of us!

Us, post 2008 Philadelphia Marathon. Yeah, the one neither of us trained for that was 27 deg at the start...

One thought on “Spaghetti Squash and Versatile Tortillas

  1. Pingback: The Evolution of a Blog « eat good, live good, feel good

Leave a Reply

