It’s been one week…

Yes, that title is meant to be read in the BareNaked Ladies lead singer’s voice… its been almost a week since my last post but the days have just flown by. Yesterday I worked 14 hours providing athletic training coverage for my school’s hockey tournament. Let me tell you that 14 hours is just about 12 hours more than any person should ever have to watch hockey. I was anticipating having a 2 hour break in the middle of the day, and early on in the day I planned to use the time to go to the grocery store and buy ingredients to make some delicious recipes that I’ve been wanting to try (coming soon!) and then go for a quick run. By the time the third morning game was coming to an end at 2 pm however, the ONLY thing I wanted to do was eat some food and sleep as long as possible until I had to be back at the rink.

And so with little self-convincing, I drove straight to my favorite “we-buy-local-and-organic-whenever-possible-and-make-delicious-food” restaurant, Sweet Melissa’s. If you ever find yourself in or around Cleveland please do your tastebuds a favor and look this place up. I got my go-to pulled chicken risotto for lunch and the roasted vegetable salad to try for dinner. The risotto has chicken, butternut squash, bacon pieces, apple chunks, dried cranberries, and, duh, risotto. It is freakin’ awesome and one day I will attempt to make it myself and share the recipe. One day. The roasted veggie salad (pictured below) was interesting. It was warm roasted veggies (always delicious) with lettuce, dried cranberries, sunflower and pumpkin seeds, and this delicious lemony dressing.

So colorful and yummy!

I wasn’t sure how the hot vs. cold and all the different flavors would come out but it was extremely tasty! Also something you could easily replicate.

Remember that little boy that I drafted off of for the 5k last weekend?

Well, unfortunately I couldn’t find the picture that I was sure would depict the very funny story that I envisioned, of the little boy just dancing along without a care in the world and I with the look of death on my face. I did, however, find this gem, which shows me that 1. I need to work on my arm swing technique and 2. at least I beat one of the kids in the race!

Due to the camera angle I also look like a giant in this picture. Not the case.

I must say, that’s definitely more tame than my face felt for most of the race. Apparently pain and lack of oxygen are not as obvious as I thought.

My Thanksgiving and the Cleveland Rapid Transit System

For the first time ever I spent Thanksgiving away from my family, with my new in-laws in Massachusetts. After a long day of travel on Tuesday the hubster, Tessie and I arrived in Massachusetts. We spent the next 2 days enjoying food, family, and the rainy Massachusetts weather. Here are some highlights from the trip:

Tessie, sleeping in the back of the truck on the ride. She loves car rides!

Hour 9 of the 10.5 hour drive...That's the appalachian trail up ahead.

Appetizers - antipasto, Albanian cabbage, olives, feta, and spinach and artichoke dip

Tessie, asking politely for a piece of Turkey from her Grandpa. She literally sat right like this the entire time he carved the turkey. No barking, jumping or begging, just sitting. Grandma rewarded her for her manners with some turkey 🙂

The Thanksgiving plate, of course, different from the Myles-family Thanksgiving plate but definitely equally tasty.

I had to fly home on Friday for work and I needed a way home from the airport. I was planning on cabbing it but after investigating that route Friday morning I learned it would cost $30. THIRTY dollars?!? I live like 10 miles max from the airport. No way. So I looked into the RTA, Cleveland’s version of DC’s Metro, NYC’s subway, and Boston’s “T”. Surely they had a train leaving the airport, and a bus that I could connect to. After a bit of searching on the website I had a rough plan that I was about 95% sure would get me home from the airport, and within a reasonable time, and for much less than $30 ($5, to be exact). Now, I am proud to say that I have ridden mass transit in every major city on the east coast (NY, Philly, DC, Boston) as well as in Chicago and San Fransisco, and this was by far the least-occupied I’ve ever been on. I was the ONLY person in the train car I got on at the airport at 5 pm on Friday, and when I got off 4 stops later there were only 2 other people on the train car. The only thing creepier than being on a subway car by yourself is being on one with 1 or 2 other people. Yikes!

Creeeeeeppppyyyyy…but I’m a scaredy-pants. Creepiness aside, the RTA bus driver on the bus I caught after this subway ride was extremely nice and helpful, and didn’t make fun of the fact that I had no clue what bus # I was supposed to transfer to.

Welp, I’m off to run on the treadmill!

it’s raining outside, and I’ve already run outside in the rain twice in the last week which means I’m going to be a wuss today! And then hopefully do some Christmas decorating to get me out of the Scrooge-y spirit I’ve been in lately.

Leave a Reply

