Yoga Adventures

On Sunday I had an unexpected yoga adventure.

One of the hubster’s co-workers was supposed to go to a yoga class with his wife, but he had to work last minute and I got invited! (FYI my husband would never ever go to a yoga class with me.) Now, even though I know what Warrior 1, 2, and 3 are and I can Chataranga and Down Dog with the best of ’em I had never been to an actual Yoga class. Previous to yesterday afternoon my only yoga experiences were via exercise videos in the comfort of my own home and I was very excited to embrace my inner “Ohm” with an actual instructor. The class was a “hot powerful flow” class, and within minutes I was sweating bullets. I’ll take this opportunity to mention that I sweat…a lot. Like to the point that I probably have something wrong with me. I sweat when I’m running in 20 degree weather, and I definitely sweat during yoga in a room that’s 90 degrees.

At what point do you stop "glistening" and start "sweating bullets"? This was me, minus the cute tank top.

Don’t get me wrong, I love to sweat. In fact, I’m really bummed that I missed out on the ability to buy an actual “I heart sweat” shirt. Dear Ali: I really enjoy your blog. I love the I heart sweat shirts. I also love the way you write, the fact that you wear leg warmers, and how much you enjoy life (in spite of crummy diseases…I know how that is). And sometimes when I get the “Ali wrote a new post” email and I read it at work I laugh out loud. And that makes me happy 🙂 Back to the Yoga though…The instructor was awesome and said the right things without being too…yoga-y, if you know what I mean. At one point we were doing this squatting pose and she said something that really stuck with me. Just as my quads felt like they were going to explode she said, in her omnipotent way “When you feel like you can’t hold the pose any more, go deeper into it. You don’t want to miss out on any of the depth in life.”My first thought was “My quads are going to explode you whack job!” but I used my breath and pushed that thought away and just tried it. Who needs quads, anyway? And as I dropped down further into the pose the pain and discomfort changed and all of a sudden I was thinking about the second part of what she said. I’m a little embarrassed to admit it, but I think I had a yoga revelation. It totally got me excited about life and how I could increase the depth of my life and all sorts of crazy talk. And it made me want to take some more of her yoga classes. Rock on Yoga, I’ll see you Wednesday morning.

One day I will do sunrise yoga on the beach...and I will love it.

Today, in the spirit of deepening my life, I mailed in an application to volunteer with Secondhand Mutts, a dog rescue organization. I’m pretty excited about hopefully being able to give some love to some dogs that are under-loved. I know it’s crazy, but this will be the first time in my life I’ve ever volunteered my time to a charitable organization. The funny thing is, growing up we always had at least one dog but I would never have considered myself a “dog-lover”. And then the then-boyfriend and I got Fenway, my very first puppy that I stayed up with all night when she was vomiting and I cried because I thought she had parvo-virus and was going to die. (Fenway did die, all too young, at 10 months from a heart abnormality.) Since then I have been a dog lover who cries easily at the SPCA commercials and when I read about the abuse suffered by some of these dogs my heart absolutely hurts and I want them all to come live with the hubster, Tessie, and I. So I figure volunteering is the easiest way to help these pooches out without becoming a total crazy dog lady that ends up on hoarders.

Fenway's Christmas Picture...Tessie's Christmas Picture coming soon

 I’m going to attempt to run before work tomorrow.

I’m hoping that by posting this when my alarm goes off at 5:45am tomorrow I will think “I can’t hit snooze on this one, then I’ll have to blog about the fact that I was lazy”. I really hope it works. Did I mention it’s supposed to be 40 and rainy tomorrow morning? I used to be a total morning person, hopping out of bed as soon as my alarm went off (if I needed it!). I’m not sure what happened, but I’m blaming my epilepsy. It’s the easiest thing to do. Part of the problem, honestly, is that I have no schedule. I have to be up at 7 am two days a week and I can sleep in the other days. Some nights I work till 9:30, some nights I’m home at 6. It’s tough to get on a normal sleep schedule when your wake schedule is always changing. But it’s something I need to work on, because I know I’ll feel better in general if I can set some sort of normal bedtime/waketime.

4 thoughts on “Yoga Adventures

  1. I can get into yoga when they don’t get too yoga-y on me, too. Its a very fine line. Basically, if they treat it as a sport/game/challenge, I’m down.

    I think Ali is going to have more sweat shirts at some point. So, if you haven’t gotten your hands on one, you may be able to, soon! (Don’t quote me on this though).

  2. Just came across your blog! Awesome stuff! I just discovered heated yoga myself this fall and absolutely love it. I try to fit it in to my weekly training when I can 🙂 Good Luck getting up for the run tomorrow morning. I’m trying to motivate myself to get up to go and swim! Hopefully we are both successful 🙂

    • Thanks so much! I hope you got up to swim, your comment helped motivate me to get up this morning, so thank you! Your blog is awesome too, by the way, I’m looking forward to following your adventures too! p.s. my team doctor is an MSU grad/football player/awesome awesome person so I think very highly of the MSU peeps.

Leave a Reply

