Tasty Meals and Speedy Wheels

Yes, I know how cheesy this title is. That’s what you get when I write a long blog post first and then scramble for something to call it. The other options were “straight deliciousness” and “what happens when the Hubster works two 14 hour work days on the weekend”. I know, my post-naming needs help. I’m working on it.

Addendum to previous post:

Well folks, I was late to the party. The I heart Sweat shirt party that is. Yes, it’s true ladies and gentlemen. I received the daily “ali on the run blog” new post email while writing my own blog entry for the day. She had started an I heart Sweat shirt online store, and my prayers had been answered. I was going to be the proud owner of an I heart Sweat shirt. And I was ready to wear it with a sweaty smile on my face. As soon as I finished writing my post I headed to the store to buy a shirt. THEY WERE SOLD OUT OF MY SIZE IN EVERY SHIRT. Are you serious? In 2 hours? What did she order like 5 shirts in each size? (Obviously not, I bet she and the crohn’s and colitis foundation made a crap-load of money and I am very happy for both of them.) But I am totally 100% bummed that I missed out on the opportunity. Total FAIL of the day. Maybe I’ll start my own shirt company to make myself feel better. Kidding, of course. I have a feeling with the demand she’s getting Ali will be ordering more shirts soon. I hope?????

Friday FAIL #2? I rode my bike to work. At 2 pm it was a little cloudy and probably in the upper 30’s/low 40’s temperature-wise. I was in the mood to ride! So I put on my moving comfort wind-resistant running jacket, donned some nice warm gloves, hopped on my princess bike (Fuji Monterery) and started the drive. It was lovely, with the brisk air giving my face that cute pink cheeks and nose look. A thoroughly enjoyable 2 miles. The ride home? Slightly different. You see, it was 9:15 pm, snowing, and about 20 degrees colder. Oops. The end result of that was more of the frozen, shivering, frostbit look. But I survived. Without my I heart sweat shirt.

One day you will be MINE shirt. All mine.

How to holler at a runner girl, Gentleman’s edition

I went for a run on Saturday morning. I wasn’t exactly excited to go out in the 20 degree weather for 9-10 miles but I set out nonetheless. To make things better I decided to wear my super old and non-cushiony Mizuno Wave Rider 13s, because the blister was just too much to handle for my Karhus. Dear MWR 13s, thank you for having a heel cup that does not go up as high as my ugly achilles. I have never appreciated you more than I did on Saturday.  Anyway, as I started out I was NOT feelin the run. My legs felt stiff and awkard and I felt S-L-O-W. Maybe those Karhu’s really do propel you forward? I tried to remind myself that this was supposed to be a long slow run anyway and I needed to embrace it (I’m not very good at running slow, It’s hard for me to grasp the whole “you have to run slower so you can run faster” thing. But I’m trying.)

Just as I was feeling optimum sorriness for myself, around mile 1, I passed a bus stop, and that’s where it happened. Now I have been hollered at, whistled at, honked at, and “woo woo”-ed at, and I have never ever enjoyed it. Generally I am either creeped out, pissed off, or just plain exasperated at these gestures. But as I ran by that bus stop a gravelly voice said 4 beautiful words. He said “You’re kickin ass baby”. Gentlemen, THAT is how you holler at a runner girl. That guy totally made my day. I smiled and then I thought “you know what? I AM kickin ass, dang it. It’s 20 degrees out on a saturday morning and 95% of the people in this town are NOT running and here I am, getting better, kickin ass.” It was my mantra for the run and it was the most enjoyable, easy, flowing run I’ve done in a while. I was so proud of myself for actually running slow and easy, until I gmap-pedometered the run. 9.5 miles in 1:19:27. That’s an 8:23 pace folks! I would’ve guessed I ran at LEAST a 9 min mile pace for the majority of the run. And that is why I don’t own a garmin. Although I would love to own a garmin for tempo and speed workouts, I think it would revolutionize my runs. But I digress. Thank you, kind gentleman, for properly hollering at me and making my run wonderful. 🙂

So I put off the semi-annual EGLGFG bake-a-thon for next weekend…

Why? Because today Tessie had pictures with Santa. And they are freaking cute. And they’re going to be a surprise until our Christmas cards go out. So I couldn’t have a bake-a-thon now, give presents to people with a random card, and then give them another card at a different time. Gotta synch up the card-edible gift giving. I did, however, cook a lot of really good food. And eat an entire box of stuffing, over the course of 3 meals. I love Stoeffers stuffing. I don’t care how much preservatives it has in it, I will never, ever stop eating it.  *Note: I don’t know what it has in it, preservatives or not, but one of the ingredients has to have some form of crack in it because that shizz is so addictive I probably could have eaten the whole box in one sitting instead of 3. Luckily I do have some semblance of self control. Before I share some recipes, here are some of the gems I picked up at the grocery store today:Hubster actually gets the award for finding this one, chocolate milk from a creamery in NC, picked up at the new EarthFare store that opened up near our house. Some of the stuff is a little pricey, but they’ve got a lot of really cool items too. P.S. This milk tastes like melted chocolate ice cream, it’s that good.And the winners from today’s grocery-store gallavanting. Pasta sauce from Little Italy in Cleveland, Local jam from somewhere in Ohio (taking their word on that one) and for the dog lover in me K-9 cruiser winter ale. Yes, I literally bought this beer solely because it had a dog on it. It’s pretty tasty though! Solid purchases. Now, how to make the tasty things that I made in the kitchen this weekend:

Salmon Patties

  • 1 can salmon, mashed with a fork (I used Trader Joe’s canned wild alaskan salmon)
  • 1/3 to 1/2 bread crumbs
  • 1/2 cup milk  I used milk because I didn’t have any eggs but next time I’m using 2 eggs, the milk forced me to use more bread crumbs and the cakes were very fragile. (still very tasty though)
  • 1/2 medium sweet onion, diced small
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 1 T butter (optional)

Mix salmon, bread crumbs, eggs (milk) and onion and form into patties. Heat 1 T olive oil and 1 T butter in a pan over medium heat. Cook patties approximately 5 minutes on each side, until browned and crispy on each side. Serve alone or on a bun. Quick, easy, healthy, and tasty!

Canneloni

  • 1 box manicotti noodles
  • .75-1 lb chicken, cooked and diced (I use chicken tenders because they cook faster and are easier to chop up than breasts)
  • 1 lb spinach, cooked
  • 2 cups mozzarella cheese, shredded
  • 1 cup ricotta cheese
  • 1/4 cup parmesan cheese
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 3 cups tomato sauce

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cook and chop chicken. Mix together chicken, spinach, cheeses, milk, salt and pepper.  Cook noodles according to directions on box. Fill noodles with chicken/spinach/cheese mixture and place in 9×13 baking dish. Cover noodles with chicken broth and tomato sauce. Bake, covered, for 45-50 minutes. Let sit for 10 minutes before serving. Sorry these are picture-less, there is no other excuse but that I was lazy. Trust me, they taste better than they look anyway.

And finally, quite possible the best chili I’ve ever made.

I found this gem of a recipe in my search to make something with quinoa in it, and the end result was one of the tastiest soups I’ve ever eaten, much less made with my own two hands. Fun to chop all the veggies and easy to make, I followed the recipe by Kid Tested, FireFighter Approved pretty much to the letter. Recipe is below, but please go to her site, she has some awesome recipes and I have a feeling I’ll be trying many more of them very soon!

Black Bean and Quinoa Chili

Ingredients:

  • 2 T olive oil
  • 1 large onion or 1.5 cups diced
  • 5 cloves garlic, or 1.5 T minced
  • 1 t cumin seeds (ground is OK)
  • 1 t coriander
  • 2 T chili powder
  • 1/4 t oregano or marjoram
  • 2 serrano chiles, seeded if less spice is desired, chopped – I omit these sometimes so my toddler will eat it -I left these out
  • 1 small green pepper or 3/4 c chopped
  • 1 small red pepper or 3/4 c chopped
  • pinch salt/pepper
  • 3 c black beans (28 oz can or 1 c dried. but if they’re dried they need to be cooked first)
  • 4 c vegetable stock or water 2 bouillon cubes if not using stock – I use 1 cube
  • 1/2 c quinoa, rinsed
  • 15 oz can corn or 1.5 c frozen corn – I use frozen corn
  • 14 oz can diced tomatoes, or better yet, Rotel
  • more stock/water if necessary
  • Juice of 1 large lime – I add the zest in as well
  • 2 c cilantro, chopped
  • salt/pepper to taste

Method: 1. In a heavy bottomed soup pot over medium heat, place the first 11 ingredients in the pan and saute for at least 10 minutes.

2. Add the beans and stock and quinoa and bring to a boil. Cover, turn heat down to a simmer and cook for 20 minutes

3. Then add the corn and tomatoes.

4. You may need to add more water to reach your desired thickness.

5. Turn heat to low and cover for 20 more minutes.

6. Stir in the lime juice and cilantro and season with salt/pepper to taste.

Happy Sunday!

3 thoughts on “Tasty Meals and Speedy Wheels

Leave a Reply

