How to Fight Back When Germs Attack

This can’t be happening. Two days ago when I woke up I had a scratchy feeling in my throat. You know, the “I’m getting sick” feeling. I of course figured it was nothing that couldn’t be cured by a hot yoga class, followed by a 6 am run yesterday morning, both of which were thoroughly enjoyable. Unfortunately, the scratchy throat has now been joined by those heavy, slightly ache-y eyeballs that I’ve named fever-eyes. NOOOOOOOOOOOO! Now, I pride myself on my immune system. I’m pretty sure I’ve only been on antibiotics 4 times in my life, and 2 of those times were as an adult (22 and 24 years old, respectively). I may rarely get sick, but I have this “I’m on the verge of getting sick” feeling at least once a year and I have a pretty surefire method of attack for when it happens: *Note: this is not written as a health care professional. Many of the methods I use have not been proven to fight illness.

Abbey’s Surefire Guide to Smash Sickness:

1. Get as much sleep as possible. Forgo workouts, dinner dates, nights out with the girls, studying, and tv in lieu of sleeping. Allow your body to get its rest so it can fight the good fight! I will be going to bed at 9 pm tonight and I will dream of little white blood cells attacking those horrible germs.

2. Get lots and lots of vitamin C.The last time I felt this crappy I drank 16 ounces of fresh squeezed orange juice. It cost me $5 but I could almost feel myself getting better as I drank it. Today I went with the more economical $3.27 Naked Power-C machine. First time I’ve ever had it, so if I get sick for-real this is DEFINITELY the reason why. I also had a sweet potato for dinner last night, another good source of vitamin C.

Delicious, Nutricious, and 2,000mg Vitamin C...Bazinga!

3. Jerry’s Raw Garlic Bread. Jerry is my awesome dad. When I was in the 4th grade he was kicked in the stomach by one of our horses and he had to have his spleen removed. Spleen = mean green germ-fighting machine. My parents go homeopathic whenever possible (i.e. why I’ve only been on antibiotics 4 times in my life) so in lieu of getting a shot every 4 years to help him fight viruses My dad developed his own method. Most mornings for breakfast (and every morning if he feels like he’s getting sick) my dad makes garlic toast. (garlic is a natural antibiotic). The man has been sick like 3 times in the 15 years since that happened. If that’s not proof I don’t know what is. Booyah. Garlic Toast for dinner for the next few days!

Raw Garlic Bread recipe:

  • 2 cloves garlic (or 3, if you’re feeling gutsy)
  • 2 Tablespoons butter (don’t skimp, I’m a firm believer that the fat plays a role too)
  • 2 slices bread of your preference (I like the whole wheat, nutty variety)

in a food processer whiz up the butter and garlic until well blended. Meanwhile toast the bread. Remove bread from toaster and spread with garlic/butter mix. DO NOT TOAST with the spread on it. This will ruin the antibiotic properties of the garlic. Make sure if you’re going to be enjoying the company of others you have 1,000 mints before you speak, breathe, or sweat. Or just tell them it’s the smell of justice.

The Man, The Myth, The Legend...and me...trying to see how many cherries we could fit in our mouths. Classy, I know.

4. Tea with Raw Honey. Lots of it. The honey will soothe your throat, liquids are always good when fighting a bug, and tea is magical. Didn’t you know that?

5. Pretend like you’re not sick. Self explanatory. If all of the above fails, this is my last resort.

Back when I wasn’t feeling sick I made this tasty pasta dish:

Shells with Sausage and Spinach

  • 1 lb box large shells (OR 1 box orrechiete)
  • 1 onion
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 3 T butter or olive oil
  • 8 oz chicken sausage
  • 28 oz can of diced tomatoes
  • 1 lb raw spinach
  • ricotta salata – I use plain old ricotta cheese

In large pot bring 4 qts water to a boil and cook pasta for duration on box. Meanwhile, melt butter over medium+ heat and saute onion and garlic until they start to brown, about 5 minutes. Remove casing from chicken sausage and crumble into pan, cook approx 10 minutes, or until cooked throught. Add tomatoes (undrained) and spinach and cook until spinach is wilted. Mix together with pasta. Once it is served into portion sized bowl add desired amount of ricotta salata and stir to mix. Enjoy! Leftovers are delicious.

How do you fight sickness? Am I missing out on a good home remedy?

One thought on “How to Fight Back When Germs Attack

Leave a Reply

