Veggie Challenge and a Marathon Method

I am feeling extremely happy and motivated today and I have a sneaking suspicion it’s because the weather is friggin AWESOME today!  The sun has decided to make a rare appearance for January, thank GOODNESS.  I think my vitamin D stores were in serious need of some sun. Anyway it’s about 49 degrees (what!?) the snow has melted and the sun is shining. Praise Jesus. Or Global Warming. Or La Nina. Or whatever brought this weather to us today. Please stay!

Days 1-3 of the EGLGFG Vegetarian Challenge

Don’t worry, I’m not going to give you a play by play of everything I’ve eaten for the past 3 days because that would be annoying and obnoxious. I will share some changes I’ve noticed. The first is probably totally in my head, but yoga on Wednesday morning felt more…cleansing…than normal. Is that possible? It was kind of cool. I’m sure it was just because I haven’t been to early yoga in a couple weeks. Speaking of yoga, a couple of weeks ago I wrote about how I wasn’t digging the super-early yoga.I have changed my mind. After doing two classes in one week, one Sunday afternoon and one Wednesday morning, it is blaringly apparent that early morning is much better for me. I think it’s because I am a blank slate, I have no thoughts to derail my practice. So basically I like it more cause I’m a rookie 🙂

These are most definitely NOT the thoughts that interrupt me trying to "empty my brain" during yoga, but you get the idea...

For the two days that I’ve had relaxed mornings (i.e. not having to be at work until 2:30 vs 8:30) I’ve made this bulgur recipe from kid tested fire fighter approved. I’ve never had bulgur before, that I know of, and it is tasty!!! And very filling. Sometimes when I eat my tried and true oatmeal (with peanut butter and bananas, delicious!) I find myself hungry like 2 hours later. Bizarre, I know, and also annoying. But with bulgur? I’m good for a couple hours.

I have definitely noticed some GI changes. That’s the nicest way I can say it without having a TMI violation on my blog. Let’s just say the old saying “beans beans they’re good for your heart…..” is true. Tee hee hee. giggle giggle.

I’ve noticed a new craving for sweets. For a couple months, pretty much since I started this blog, I have had zero craving for sweet treats and desserts. Bizarre, since previous to that I liked ending my day with dessert. But since I started eating vegetarian I’ve been digging the sweet stuff again. I have no answer as to why this is.

If you cook the stems of Rainbow Chard they taste like beets. Awesome! I love beets! I made a killer batch of Rainbow Chard today, and read somewhere that you can actually saute the stems too and eat them…I did not know, however that the flavor would be beet-like. Who knew? Two veggies in one! Here is how I made them, if you like greens I suggest trying this!

Rainbow Chard with Onions

  • 1 Bunch Rainbow Chard, greens stripped from stems and stems chopped.
  • 1/2 sweet onion, diced
  • 2 teaspoons butter
  • 1 Tablespoon oil
  • garlic powder, salt, pepper
  • Garlic Expressions viniagrette

Melt butter and oil in saute pan over medium heat. Add onion and Chard stems and saute for 5 minutes, or until softened. Add Chard greens and spices and saute for another 5 minutes or so. Sprinkle with Garlic Expressions viniagrette. Deliciouso!

This stuff is awesome. On anything. Buy it!

To Train or Not To Train: Marathon Style

Or really how to train. OK here’s my problem. For the past two months I’ve been trying to ramp up my weekly mileage in anticipation of starting to train for the Cleveland Marathon (no, I haven’t signed up yet, I haven’t reached that level of commitment yet). Unfortunately my weekly mileage, for one reason or another has remained almost exactly the same (around 25 miles). I was hoping to be up to at least 30 by now, and I was going to try the Hanson’s marathon training plan this time around. Now I’m wondering if that’s not such a good idea.

You see, I know myself. You may think that because I was a collegiate gymnast I do well with pressure. That’s just not true, actually I’m horrible with pressure but as an athlete I learned how to control my thoughts and pretend the pressure didn’t exist. I literally had to think about only the skill I was currently doing during competition, not the routine as a whole. i.e. if I thought “C’mon, make this routine” I would fall. But if I thought “kip. good ok now to the high bar. kip hop handstand. good front giant. etc etc etc.” Mental toughness. I say all that to say that the first time I did a marathon I missed a couple training runs, had a couple bad weeks, and totally quit/caved. The whole 4 months of marathon training totally overwhelms me to look at as a whole.

The 2nd time I used the smartcoach plan on RunnersWorld, and I used the bribery method, week by week. For every long run that I actually completed I would give myself a reward…new running shirt, new shoes, something I really wanted. I only missed 2 long runs, and it was because of super big snow storms in Philly. I really only ran 3 days a week, my speedwork day, tempo day, and long run… maybe 4 times a week if I was lucky and I topped out at a measly 40 miles/week…and ran a sub 4-hour marathon (3:51:48)

The point is, I think if I use the “shoot for a certain mileage a week” this time around I think it will be a fail. I mean really, my goal for the last 2 months has been “30 miles a week” and I haven’t done it once. My latest plan is to grind out the schedule in terms of “quality workouts”. And take it one day at a time. Other than those workouts I think I’m just going to keep the days blank on my calendar and run what I feel like. Or cross train. Or rest.

Help me out! How do you train for a marathon? Anybody run the Hanson’s method? I just don’t think I’m ready for it.

One thought on “Veggie Challenge and a Marathon Method

  1. Just remember that no training cycle can be perfect and that there will be a few missed runs and bad ones, too. Try to use whatever worked for you in gymnastics. I did that with what worked for me in tennis. Or what has worked in other races.

    Haven’t used the Hanson’s method so can’t speak for that!

    One thing my coach once told me was not to “put the marathon on a pedestal,” but just to treat it like any other race.

Leave a Reply

