The Root Cafe

First of all, I’d just like to say that Tim Tebow is the MAN. I don’t care who you are, you have to respect his athleticism, drive to win, and ability to make things happen. I also happen to very much appreciate what a wonderful role model he is among some not-so-impressive NFL players (cough cough talkin to you Big Ben). Don’t ever change, Timmy.

OK hopping off the Tebow train now.

 What a lovely Sunday I had.

I’ve been wanting to try this little cafe in the town/area of the city next to mine for quite a while now. They get as much of their produce and food locally as possible, and the bread for all their sandwiches is from a family-owned bakery in Lakewood, BreadSmith. Since the sun was shining and it wasn’t too terribly cold I decided to bike there. It was only a 5 mile ride and other than the fact that my face was a teensy weensy bit chilly (ok, maybe frozen) it was a lovely little ride, I rode on the road (instead of the sidewalk, which I’ve been known to frequent with my Princess Bike) and I wasn’t even scared!

Parked curbside with the best bike lock ever 🙂

I ordered the beet sandwich which has goat cheese, spinach, and carmelized onions on it. Oh man be still my heart. The only thing more delicious than beets is beets with goat cheese. Y-U-M-M-Y!

Straight deliciousness. I shared my lunch with plants at the bar and pseudo-read a book that I haven’t quite gotten far enough into to be “into” it. Just plain old lovely.

Hi plants, nice to share my lunch with you!

I ended the excursion by purchasing two treats from the bakery at the cafe: A carrot/walnut/apple muffin and a peanut butter quinoa cookie. The muffin was OUT OF THIS WORLD, the cookie, meh not so much.

I've gotta find a recipe that does this thing justice.

After I got home I spent the rest of the day knitting…except for the small amount of time that I was on the computer and Tessie snuck away with my yarn. Gotta keep an eye on that cute little one!

Bad doggie!

In other news, tonight I decided that I despise treadmills. They are completely miserable torture devices, in my opinion, and I’m going to avoid them as much as possible from now own.

I also had a very fun adventure today, but some things are still in process and I want to make sure they go smoothly before I share some very exciting news! Get ready!!!

Leave a Reply

