***WARNING*** Delicious Recipe Below

OK maybe that was a little too…overzealous. But I really did concoct the most amazing white bean burgers on Wednesday for lunch. I made up the entire recipe, and it took about 20 minutes. Can’t beat that! The idea came to me in the shower, after a scrumptiously challenging and successful speed workout (6 x .5 mile @ 5k pace with 400 jog recovery). I was starving, and we really didn’t have a whole lot by way of food in the house. Or so I thought! I knew we had plenty of beans, and an onion. And an acorn squash, but I didn’t really feel like squash for lunch. I moseyed down to the kitchen with a rough idea in mind, but it wasn’t until I rummaged through the fridge and freezer that it all came together. Here’s how it went down:

Tasty Spinach and Onion White Bean Burgers

  • 1/2 sweet onion, diced approx
  • 6 oz. frozen (or fresh) spinach. I eyeballed the amount
  • 1 can Great Northern beans (approx 1 1/2 cups, or other white bean) rinsed and drained.
  • Teaspoon of olive oil
  • 1/4 c mayonaise (or an egg, I never seem to have eggs when I need them)
  • 1/3 c. bread crumbs
  • 1/2 of 1/3 c. oat bran
  • garlic powder, salt, pepper, and crushed red pepper flakes to taste
  • 1 T each butter and olive oil

Saute the onion and spinach in a teaspoon of olive oil until onions are soft and spinach is wilted (if frozen just throw the spinach in a minute or so before the onions are done). Season with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Meanwhile, in a bowl mash up the beans with a fork or other mashing implement. Add spinach and onion, stir to mix well. Add bread crumbs, oat bran, red pepper flakes and mayo (or egg). Mix well. Form into 4 large-ish patties. Heat butter and olive oil in a pan over medium-high heat. Cook patties approximately 4-5 minutes on each side until crispy and browned. Melt some sharp white cheddar on top for a delcious experience 🙂

Additionally on the food front, I made this Kale Salad earlier in the week. Megan from RunnersKitchen really eats some delcious stuff. I had to substitue frozen butternut squash for the kabocha squash because I do not live in NYC and none of my grocery stores carried it. This was a bad choice. I’d never tried to roast frozen squash but I don’t think it’s possible. I ended up with squash mush. This is my own fault because I was too lazy to actually cut up a real butternut squash, but c’est la vie right? It was still very tasty and I look forward to trying the “real deal” someday 🙂

I may have to purchase an "eat more kale" shirt...though I'm not sure I eat enough kale to qualify.

My cooking prowess for the week ended with some roasted vegetables. I bought beets on an impulse one day last week and I realllllllly needed to cook them before they went bad so on Friday I brought out my knife and sliced up some other veggies to roast with them. I have an awesome picture of these veggies on my camera but I can’t find the upload cord thingy anywhere. Poo. Learned a couple things from this experience, which brings be to:

Things I’ve Learned This Week

This may or may not become a weekly installment, depending on how many dumb things I do learnable mistakes I make each week 🙂

  1. Thick fluffy socks on a run are not always a good idea. In fact, often they end in a giant blister and more blood on your running shoe. I won’t grace you with any more bloody shoe pictures, don’t worry.
  2. Eating beets can cause beeturia, which basically looks like bloody urine and can cause a certain amount of freak-out-age until one googles “can beets cause red urine” and feels a lot better, albeit slightly sheepish for googling such a silly phrase.
  3. Beeturia and its counterpart aren’t bad necessarily, but often occur in iron-deficient individuals or sometimes in people with malabsorption troubles in the intestine (i.e. celiac disease, IBS etc). I tested negative for Celiac disease earlier in the year (my brother just found out he has it) but now I’m wondering if that could be wrong. TMI? probably. Sorry.
  4. You should never cut a fresh delicious Everything bagel by holding it in your hand. No matter how careful you are you will cut yourself. And then you will forget about it and after evaluating a sweaty athlete put on a mound of hand sanitizer which will be quickly followed by the “ouchie! ouchie! ouchie!” face and dance.
  5. No matter how “short” a walk you plan on taking two dogs averaging 60# each that both are bad on leashes you should always take the time to put on an easy lead. Otherwise you WILL slip in the snow and/or (most likely and) have to sprint across the entire park to chase a squirrel until it jumps the fence. With people watching.
  6. If you “lost” your water bottle 2 weeks ago and just can’t find it anywhere try looking in that bag you took to the gym. Might surprise yourself.

But most importantly: The key to running outside in the winter months is RUNNING BUDDIES.

Say it with me people. I went on two runs in totally crappy weather this week that I definitely would have bagged had I not been scheduled to run them with other people. No one wants to be the weather wuss that says “oh it’s too bad out there for me, I’m not going to run outside today”. True story.

What did you learn this week?

One thought on “***WARNING*** Delicious Recipe Below

  1. I hate no idea that beets could turn your urine red. I would definitely assume I had some horrible kidney disease if I saw red urine. Typical for me though.

    And, thanks for your advice on my blog — I always love when people give me their input. I was glad to hear there is something to back up what I’ve felt through my injury. Hoping I’ll be done with it soon!

Leave a Reply

