Who needs Technology?

A Technology-less week

OK, so I have spent plenty of time on my computer. But if you read the last post you know that early last week we switched from our blackberries to basic phones AND our TV died.  We do have a second TV, in our bedroom, but it is maybe 19″ and has a built in VCR. Seriously, the thing still works and it’s gotta be from the early 90’s. And our nice, new{ish} no-more-than-4-years-old TV is broken? They just don’t make ’em like they used to….as they say. Hubster made a valiant effort to fix the TV, he was sure it was the lamp that had just burnt out (we own a DLP? Is that right? I don’t even know). So the lamp finally came today, he puts it into the TV, presses the Power button andddd………nothing. Not cool. Especially for him, seeing as he has a 5 day break from work starting tomorrow. His new solution? Buy a new TV. Oh yes, that makes financial sense. We just bought a car, why not spend $1000 on a new TV and just move the old one downstairs and get it fixed “when we feel like it, since we eventually want a TV down there anyway”. Genius.

"But I want the TV to work NOW"

I guess we all respond to adversity differently. My approach has been more of a adaptive one. I may or may not have eaten dinner last night sitting on my nightstand (which happens to be a low-budget TV stand from Target from my grad school days) so I could watch the new NCIS episode. I also went to the bookstore today and purchased the first AND second Harry Potter books to re-read…I figure I should buy them so my kids can read them…you know, when I have kids and they are indeed old enough to read.  Interesting Abbey Fact of the Day: When the seventh book came out I had just moved to Philadelphia for grad school. Immediately upon arrival I bought the book and read the ENTIRE thing in 48 hours. You know, the 3948573871293875 page one. Not kidding. I’m thinking it would be cool to read them all again, in succession. If only there was an Omnivore’s Dilemma themed Harry Potter. Where Voldemort is the man responsible for genetically modified food and McDonalds. I’d be all over that!

The Running Conundrum

I find it fascinating how you can have a superbly crappy run where everything goes wrong and then 24 hours later have a phenomenal run where everything goes right. First of all, that 16 miler I was so excited about did not go well on Sunday. I mean by the numbers it was fine, a little under 16 at around 8:51 pace. Even a little faster than I should be running my long runs. But by feeling? I was sluggish, underdressed aka freezing, the wind was blowing in my face the whole time, and I had to pee from mile 2. I didn’t even feel like running yesterday but  I drug myself to the gym for a nice slow 4 miles. Which ended up being a dreadful, hot, sluggish 2.5 miles.

Fast forward to tonight, as I set out with a bit of trepidation for what I was loosely calling a 6 mile tempo run aka run as fast as I can to get it over with. It ended up being a lovely, cathartic run that felt so cleansing in a way that only a hard run can. Hooray 🙂 I think those two things, both the way that runs from day to day can be so vastly different and the way that a superb run makes you feel are what keep the millions of us runners getting up early, running after work, running for hours on the weekends, and toeing the line in “races” that for most of us are measured in whether or not we beat ourself.

Finally, a recipe from Abbey’s kitchen exploits…

This recipe is from the kitchen of my mother-in-law, and the first time Hubster made it I was shocked just how much flavor it had…It’s quite easy and great for winter nights where you don’t feel like cooking but you want a nice hot balanced meal. I’m not sure where the name came from or what it means, a point that’s always confused me 🙂 Side story: When I cooked this Tuesday night I realized the full beauty of kitchen scissors. PLEASE, do yourself a favor, use scissors to cut meat that’s in a casing. WOW it is way easier!!!

JAG

  • 2 cups rice – you can use brown or white, I used brown for the first time this past time and it was delicious!
  • 1 can beans – kidney/red or black beans, either will be tasty
  • 1 can corn
  • 1 onion
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • linguica or chorizo – I used chorizo and I hear Trader Joe’s has a delicious faux-rizo (vegetarian version of chorizo)
  • oil for sauteing garlic/onion/chorizo
  • salt, pepper, and paprika to taste

You’ll need 4 cups of liquid for the rice – drain the corn and beans and use that as part of the liquid, use water for the rest.

Throw a couple tablespoons oil into a large stock pot over medium-ish heat, saute the onion and garlic in there for a few minutes. Throw in the chorizo, chopped into bite sized pieces. Brown the meat and then throw in the corn and beans. Pour in the 4 cups liquid and add salt/pepper/paprika and taste the water. Go easy on the seasoning the first time because you can always add more. Turn the heat up and bring it to a boil, then add the rice. Stir and cover. Simmer for 30-45 minutes until the rice is cooked and there is no water in the pan.

Delicious!

Happy Friday! I’ll end with a cute pic of our foster dog #2, Zoey, and our sweet, best-dog-ever, Tessie:

a rare moment of quiet for these two playful dogs

 

Leave a Reply

