A Long Hiatus

2,346

Yep, that’s how many pages of the Harry Potter series I have re-read since I last blogged. I’m not sure if I should be embarrassed or proud about that number, but it is definitely one of the reasons I haven’t written in what, two weeks?. I’m 522 pages into the 5th book and I’m slightly definitely obsessed. J.K. Rowling just writes in a way that when I pick up the book I can’t put it down. And I’ve already read the whole series before! I realized while reading that I couldn’t even remember the names of Books 3-6, much less what happened in them.  And as I read book 3 I literally couldn’t remember how they got out of the predicament they were in until i finished the book. After I read something it’s like “oh, yes, now I remember” but as I’m reading it’s as if I’m reading it for the first time. I remembered pretty well books 1 and 2 while I re-read those so I’m wondering if it’s because I read books 3 and 4 in the throws of having/being diagnosed with my epilepsy? Maybe it has nothing to do with that but I definitely enjoy being able to re-read books that I loved and re-love them all over again! As I read book 5 I do remember more than in 3 and 4 so I am definitely contributing this to epilepsy.

Speaking of Epilepsy…

Another large reason why I haven’t written is that my brain has been feeling absolutely atrocious for the last 2 weeks. It’s really very frustrating. I can’t describe to you the exact feeling, basically it feels “yucky”. I used to think that I was the only one who had this “yucky” brain feeling but I was doing an interview for a epilepsy study and I apologized that that was the only word I could use to describe it and the woman told me that it’s very common for other fellow epileptics to use the same kind of description! It was then that I realized I never really had anyone to commiserate with, to discuss and compare how we felt, like a support group. And how helpful that would have been/be to have such a thing!

Fascinating!

Just a pretty cool picture that I found showing what an EEG looks like of the two main types of seizures – partial (one part of the brain) and generalized (the whole brain).

I know that for me sleep (or lack thereof) is the biggest trigger, second being a tie between stress and flashing lights. But something else has to be a trigger that I’m missing. Since moving to Cleveland the amount of days that I’ve “felt crappy” has tripled probably. Environmental? Dietary? Coincidence? I wish I knew!

Another embarrassing number…

I did a little experiment during the month of February. Hubster was home most of the month so I knew we could get an accurate read on exactly how much we were spending on food each month. And so, on February 1, we started saving all our food receipts – grocery store, restaurant, fast food, EVERYTHING. The verdict? We spend wayyyyyyyyyyyyyyy too much on food. A whopping $648.72, in fact.  SIX HUNDRED DOLLARS!?!?!? For two people? And less than $100 of that was fast food/restaurant. MUCH lower than I expected in that department. It still only accounted for 10% of our meals (9/90) while the monetary amount was about 17% of what we spent. Even more embarrassing about this number is that Hubster gets free breakfasts and lunches at work. This has GOT to change. Basically we are spending $21.60 per day on food. So far in March I’ve been working on using up the non-perishable food (and perishable leftover food too) and we’re only 10 days in but we’ve spent less than $200 so we’re on track for a good month. Among the tasty treats I’ve invented/eaten while using up pantry items was this recipe, which I have dubbed:

Quinoa Primavera

  • 1 C. quinoa
  • 3 C liquid – I used chicken broth for 2 c. and water for 1 c.
  • 1 c. frozen broccoli
  • 6 oz. spinach
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 2-4 T cream cheese, as desired

Cook the quinoa in the liquid as directed. Saute the onion and garlic in a bit of olive oil in a separate pan until almost soft, add the broccoli and spinach, cover for a few minutes to steam the broccoli and wilt the spinach. Mix together the quinoa, veggie mix, and add as much cream cheese as desired, stir to melt and incorporate cream cheese. This made 2 Abbey servings. DELICIOUS!

And a final note…

I’m pretty sure I have a stress fracture in my foot. Needless to say I haven’t really run this week, and I’m going to make a doctor’s appointment soon. Sad face :(. Bye bye Cleveland Marathon, hello fall marathon? maybe? still thinking about it…

2 thoughts on “A Long Hiatus

  1. I do remember in neurology some of the epilepsy people talking about a similar feeling — a “fuzzy feeling” or something like that. Epilepsy is so tough.

    Hope you don’t have a stress fracture!

  2. Pingback: My First “Things I’m Loving” Post | eat good, live good, feel good

Leave a Reply

