I’m Baaaaaaack!

Oh hey blog, it’s been a while. Since my last blog post I’ve learned quite a bit about myself, worked more than I’d like, and written several unfinished posts. Upon re-reading said posts we are all very lucky that I kept them in the “draft” section. Both were more or less woe-is-me accounts of the last four months and I have no idea what got into me! I think I had a large case of burnout. But now I’m back, refreshed and motivated after a week at the beach with my awesome family.

Things I learned about myself over the hiatus
This topic screams “nice neat bullet pointed list”, so I’ll acquiesce. As I look back over the past few months it is glaringly obvious that certain traits of mine shaped my “funk” and while none of them are things that I would have been like “whhaaaat? That’s not me!” I didn’t really make the connection until a couple weeks ago.

• I am an all or nothing kinda gal. While I like to use the phrase “half-ass”, I do not know how to exemplify it. This is both a good thing and a bad thing. On the positive side, many things that I attempt to do are successful, whether my happiness suffers or not. On the negative side, God forbid I over-extend myself, things can get ugly and I can become one miserable lady. Case in point: working full time, fostering a high maintenance dog, trying to experiment in the kitchen, keeping up a blog about aforementioned activities that people actually want to read, exercising, and being a wife. And keep my sanity. Yeah, that didn’t work out very well.

• I need yoga. Three weeks ago I was miserable. My job changes a bit in the summer, and I was really having a hard time adjusting. I hadn’t been to yoga in a few months, and it finally occurred to me that that might help. Boy did it ever! I’m not sure I can explain how, but there’s something about breathing and emptying your mind that is oh so cleansing. Totally worth the 12 bucks a class in my opinion!

• My exercise needs are changing. After my foot injury this spring my running situation has not been the same, and I think I’m ok with that. I’ve not yet been able to run 3 or 4 times a week without something hurting. So I’ve been riding my trainer, doing more strengthening stuff (which I desperately need), and yoga-ing as much as possible. I feel stronger, more balanced, and less like exercise is a drag. Maybe one day my body will be able to handle running again, but right now I’m ok with doing it sparingly.

• I still need some work figuring out the whole “eat good clean fresh food while maintaining a busy work schedule” thing. I feel so strongly about being successful on this specific journey.

The more I read about the state of our environment and our mass farming methods, the lack of good nutrition options for so much of the country’s population, and the abysmal effort of the FDA to do anything about it, the more I want to know exactly where my food came from and how it was raised/grown. The only way this will change is if people like me and you do something to make a difference. And I need to do a better job of making a difference! I’m so proud to live in Cleveland, where things like the SC2019 initiative promote sustainable living. And Growhio provides awesome information through both their website and Twitter feed.

It feels good to be back.

One thought on “I’m Baaaaaaack!

  1. Pingback: How Abbey got her mojo back « eat good, live good, feel good

Leave a Reply

