Everyone should have to practice yoga

My job has overtaken my life. Well, my job and the Olympics. You see, for the past two weeks my life has consisted of working Mon-Sat from 7am until roughly 2pm (with a couple early days when I was home by 12:30), and then spending the next three hours on the couch in an Olympic haze alternately napping and watching whatever was on…getting up around 5, exercising, eating, and then more Olympics until midnight. And repeat. And repeat. And repeat. You may think that working 7 hours a day really can’t be that bad, but it’s a pretty physical job, it’s all outside in the heat, and I have to deal with teenagers. Which means 7 hours is exhausting. It really was a relatively enjoyable existence with the exception that my house falls into disarray until Sundays and my poor dog is getting a very little amount of exercise. Oh and this thing that I loosely call my blog has been seriously neglected…

McKayla’s not happy that my blog has been neglected…

Exercise = Sanity

For the last two weeks I’ve done something I haven’t done in months. I’ve exercised 6 out of every 7 days. My goal was simple and attainable: raise my heart rate for 30 minutes every day, with a day off per week. Some days I went to the gym and did a mix of rowing machine (don’t laugh, it’s hard!) and elliptical. One day I swam, a couple days I ran, I often biked on the trainer here at home. I mixed it up and enjoyed sweating. For the first time in a while I had no underlying goal other than to feel good about myself and keep my stress level down. The great thing about it is that 30 minutes is SO doable, even with my schedule the past two weeks. And it sure beats doing nothing, which is what I usually do during this busy period. Some days I was so tired and SO not in the mood to workout but I forced myself to get through 10 minutes, and after that it was easy to get through the final 20. This is a lesson I’ve learned before, that exercising regularly not only reduces my stress, but it makes me feel good about myself and motivated for the other things in my life. Sometimes it’s easy to lose sight of the benefits of exercise and write it off …”oh I’m exhausted” “oh I don’t have enough time” “oh I need the sleep more than the exercise”. But none of those statements are really true, and I’ve got to continue remembering that. I think my new mantra needs to be “twenty minutes is better than no minutes”.

After a nice long hiatus from yoga I also returned to Inner Bliss on Friday. Oh Yoga, how I love thee. When I first started going to yoga I liked going to my fave girl Kimberly for all the classes. Now I like switching it up, even though Kimberly will always be my ultimate favorite. When you go to different instructors you get a different experience every time. They focus on different things and thus you focus on different things. My class friday was H-A-R-D. I was struggling to “come back to the breath” the whole class it seemed, but at the end? I truly did have total bliss. I felt awesome inside and out (and also like I’d lost a couple liters of fluid, which is probably true). On the ride home my only thought was what a wonderful world this would be if everyone enjoyed practicing yoga. Super cheesy? yes. But definitely true.

This is my dream. 1. to be able to do this pose, and 2. to do yoga on the beach.

Sweet Basil’s

Last night hubster and I went to a baseball game and then tried a *new* pizza place, Sweet Basil Neopolitan Pizzeria in Westlake, Ohio. Let me just say that I am a big fan after only one {really large tasty and delicious} pizza. Let’s talk about the reasons this place is the bomb diggity:

  • Locally owned. Boom Shakalaka. There are literally pictures of the kids up in the dining room. You had me at Hello.
  • Fresh. They threw the pizza crust basically right in front of us, tossing it into a giant, light, tasty crust right before our eyes.
  • Friendly. Even when they close at 10pm and you walk in at 9:57pm, which is what we did. I’ve worked in the restaurant biz, and I groaned everytime someone did that. Not these guys. They chatted with us while we waited and cracked jokes.
  • Delicious. The slices on the pizza we got were GINORMOUS, and it took all my self control not to eat about 3 of them.

    Yes, that is a dinner sized paper plate. Did I say the slices were humongous?

I’m trying the calzones next…Just another Cleveland Gem 🙂 Oh, and p.s.? The sauce is Out O’ This World!

Breakfast Menagerie

This morning I made a tasty concoction for hubster and I with leftovers from the fridge. Our tomatoes have been blossoming like crazy, I think we’ve harvested close to 20 or 25 so we’ve been putting tomatoes on everything because I haven’t convinced hubster to try canning yet. Here’s how it went down:

  • 1 diced tomato
  • handful of diced mushrooms
  • handful of diced skillet potatoes, leftover from dinner a couple nights ago.
  • 4 farm fresh eggs from the farmer’s market a couple weeks ago, whisked
  • large handful of spinach
  • 1/3 cup shredded farm fresh yogurt cheese

In a large saute pan melt 1 T butter and a dash of olive oil over medium heat. Add all the veggies and the potatoes and cook until the spinach wilts down. Pour eggs over top, continue scraping sides of pan with spatula to keep eggs toward the center, and keep all ingredients in a nice little round disc shape. After several minutes flip concoction (I had to do this in several steps because my spatula was too small and I didn’t wait long enough so it wasn’t all stuck together) and sprinkle cheese over top. Cook several more minutes until cheese is melted. Great success!

Pure Freshness, which I topped off with some High Fructose Corn Syrup-laden Ketchup. Hey, we can’t be perfect all the time 🙂

Olympic Top 5’s

I’ve seen far less of the Olympics than I probably led you to believe in my opening statement…most of that afternoon watching was, indeed, sleeping. But I still feel the need to express my favorite moments and/or athletes of this Olympic games.

1. Gaby Douglas, Aly Raisman, and the rest of the US women’s girls gymnastics team. Bringin’ home the gold medal for the first time since ’96, and for the first time ever on foreign soil. KUDOS!

2. Meb Keflezghi getting 4th in the marathon. I know, it’s not a medal, but it’s way better than any other male or female U.S. marathoner in an Olympics that I thought we legitimately had a solid chance at medaling in. I know I shouldn’t couch-judge, but I must admit I’m a little disappointed that half of our U.S. marathoners didn’t even finish the course. That being said, Meb was 3 minutes off the winner. Shalane and Kara were also 3 minutes off the winner and they finished 10th and 11th, so not all’s fair in love and marathoning I guess.

3. Missy Franklin being Missy Franklin. I heart her. What a breath of fresh air! I hope she stays amateur, continues swimming for her high school, goes to swim in college, and then comes back in 2016 and puts Michael Phelps to shame with all the medals she wins.

4. Mo Farah and Galen Rupp going 1-2 in the 10k. Their embrace when they finished and Galen’s pure joy at winning a silver medal was just awesome. I was actually standing and yelling “Go GO GO GO!” at the TV during the last lap.

5. Oscar Pistorius running in the Olympics, period.: Boss Status. So cool to watch him run against able bodied athletes…in the Olympics…and compete.

And, a close runner up…I want to be a U.S. Swimmer 🙂

 

One thought on “Everyone should have to practice yoga

Leave a Reply

