Moving On

So I’m still not feeling well…and it got worse  but now seems to be getting “better?”. What started a couple weeks ago as random nausea, tummy pains, fatigue, and some other GI issues that I’m not going to expound on has turned into “I don’t want to eat because I know I will feel nauseous/tummy pain/may have to take an immediate trip to the bathroom”. Also, I’m exhausted all the time and I can’t stop burping after I eat. Oh! And after some meals/by the end of the day I’m so bloated that I could seriously pass for being 4 months pregnant. (I’m not pregnant.) I considered taking a picture of this for your enjoyment but decided it would not improve my reader retainment. And when I try to suck in my tummy it hurts. So, I did what any intelligent person would have done 2 weeks ago…I went to the doctor.

He ordered a myriad of bloodwork, a CT scan, and a stool sample (yuck!)…and a trip to the Gastroenterologist. I hate going to the doctor because I’m scared that either 1.) they won’t find anything and they will think I am crazy OR 2.) something serious will be wrong. Neither option is palatable to me. Then again, feeling like this for another month really isn’t too palatable either considering I moaned for a solid hour after I ate the other night. So far, all that’s left on my list is to see the Gastroenterologist and all tests have come back negative. So either it’s all in my head or…

Maybe I have Celiac Disease. Or at least a gluten sensitivity?

I got tested for Celiac last year after my brother was diagnosed with it and it was negative. The problems with that? 1. I had been eating a gluten-light/free diet for the last 3 weeks (apparently that’s a no-no) and 2. My brother’s was diagnosed via endo/colonoscopy, his bloodwork was negative also.

Today I read this article, Thank you Dr. Google. This is exactly how I have been feeling, even with the random bout of acne for the past month and a half – and I NEVER get pimples. Currently I’ve got 3 on my face, and all of them have been weirdly placed, close to my hair-line or jaw-line.  I know, as a health professional I should be the last person consulting Dr. Google, but he’s just so addictive! He knows so much! And stuff he doesn’t know he acts like he knows!

If Dr. Google were a real person he would DEFINITELY look like this…yummy. I hope my doctor this week is this hot. Actually, I don’t. I’m going to have to tell him some very not hot things. *photo credit to phatjill.blogspot.com

So I’m trying to keep an open mind as I go to the GI-Guy next Wednesday and not go in there like “So I’m pretty sure I have Celiac…” and remember that it could just be stress, me making myself sick. I know the brain is a powerful thing.

In an effort to prove to myself that it wasn’t all in my brain, on Thursday I got my head out of my ass.

I went for a run.

I did it before I ate in the morning so I felt pretty good, and like every good run it was incredibly cleansing. For mind and body. I sweated. I hurt in places other than my tummy. I sweated some more. It was a short run, but it was exactly what I needed to stop feeling sorry for myself, being sad for feeling bad. A lot of people have it way worse than me in this life, and a lot of them can’t run. What if I couldn’t physically run? If I had never been able to feel the wonderful post-run clarity, sense of peace? I am so thankful that I can run.

On Friday I did something even more exciting, I signed up for the Philly Half Marathon in November. It will be my first half since 2009 (gasp! Where has the time gone!?!?) and even though my weekly mileage has been stairs-to-couch lately I am SUPER excited about this race. It is so nice to have something to look forward to! Plus I haven’t ventured back to Philthadelphia since we moved in 2010 and I am really looking forward to re-acquainting myself.

Realizing that running zero miles per week does not equal success in the half marathon I went to my trusty SmartCoach via Runnersworld. I was SHOCKED to see that my training plan has me running essentially under 20 miles per week the whole time and running an estimated 1:47:+ half. Seriously?!? That’s only 2 minutes off my PR so I’m thinking that’s probably not going to happen but my finish time is not one of my goals this time around. In no particular order here is what I want to accomplish this time around:

  1. Enjoy every run. Enjoy the Process. Enjoy the fact that my body is physically able to run. Enjoy how empowering the run is. You know, Feng shui crap like that.
  2. Run the easy runs EASY. This is something I have never, EVER done. I suck at running slower than my “#1 go-to speed”. This also means that I suck at running any faster than that too. Thus, I am a one-speed gal. I want this to change. More to see if I feel a difference during training at while racing. (or if I can actually run at a pace that qualifies as racing? That would be nice!)
  3. Cross-train. I may be only running 11-20 miles a week but I still want to supplement with cycling, and yoga. I am a libra, and while I think that’s all a bunch of hooey I have learned that I am a person who needs a serious dose of balance in her life. I cannot be  work>play<exercise<spiritual growth. I must be work=play=exercise=spiritual growth.

See? No time goal, no race goal, just running free and easy. That being said, I’d be lying if I weren’t eyeing that 1:47 on my SmartCoach planning calendar…..Is it possible??? We shall see.

2 thoughts on “Moving On

  1. Pingback: Race Week!!! « eat good, live good, feel good

  2. Pingback: Lessons learned from a craptastic run « eat good, live good, feel good

Leave a Reply

