Quote-able Quednesday…a little late

But first, a word on the gluten free life.

So I know lately this blog has been a lot of running and not much of anything else. That’s mostly because I’ve got the Philly Half coming up on November 18th and I’ve had running on the brain. I’ve also been loving every second of having running on the brain, and looking forward to every run. The other half of it is that I haven’t really been experimenting in the kitchen  much. I’m still getting used to this whole gluten free thing and I’ve been sticking to what I know because I don’t really have the time to be creative (so much running and working!) I’m going to try to start experimenting though, and I do have a cooking project coming up so stay tuned!

One thing I have found with running a lot and being gluten free is that I still crave carbohydrates but need to find new things to eat other than my go-to breads and cereals. I’ve been known to eat an entire box of dry Special K in 24 hours during marathon training, and that can’t happen now. So I’ve been eating a lot of rice and a lot of potatoes. And Kind Bars and Picky Bars for snacks/desserts. One of my favorite potato recipes is something I call “skillet potatoes”. They are tasty and delicious and cook up pretty fast – here is the recipe:

Skillet Potatoes

  • 3-6 small idaho potatoes – I’ve been buying the 5 lb bags and the potatoes are usually smallish in there. I’ll cook 3-4 just for myself, but I eat a lot.
  • 1 T butter
  • 1-2 T olive oil
  • 2-3 cloves garlic, chopped
  • lots of seasonings – I usually use salt, pepper, minced onion, garlic powder, and oregano but rosemary makes a great addition as well if you have it around.

Slice potatoes into little disks about 1/4″ thick or even a little thinner…I’m a crappy slicer so I just slice them as thin as I can without losing a finger. Set aside. Put butter and olive oil into a pan and heat a little bit higher than medium heat but not quite medium-high. When butter is melted add potatoes, spreading them evenly throughout the pan. Toss to coat all potatoes in butter/OO. Season liberally with all seasonings, flip potatoes, and season some more. Add chopped garlic cloves and let potatoes cook, flipping/stirring every couple minutes to make sure all the potatoes brown equally. Cook time depends on how many potatoes you have (more layers=longer cook time to brown all potatoes) but it’s usually done in 10-15 minutes.

Enjoy plain or with some ketchup! They’re super tasty.

Breaking News!

HOW AWESOME ARE THESE? Thank goodness for Twitter, because I would have missed this were I not constantly checking it. I’m definitely going to get one for Philly.  I think I’m going to get the mix pack and go with both the “joy” and the “free fast and fun” tats for race day…One of my mantras lately, before even seeing the free, fast, and fun logo has been “run free, run fast”. Who knew Believe I Am beat me to creating my own mantra? Must mean it’s a good one 🙂

Now back to the quoting stuff.

Today’s quote is brought to you by Guru Prasad, whoever that is. I tried to google him and found 25 linked-in profiles, a movie director, and a Nepali short story writer. Hmm.

“The human mind is the most malleable thing in the creation. You say to it “I Can’t”…it gives up. There is defeat even before the battle is begun. You say to it day after day, I CAN, and follow it up with DISCIPLINE, PERSISTENCE, and HARD WORK…then SUCCESS is yours even before you realize it and easier than you thought.”

You’ve got to hand it to Mr. Prasad, he’s got some good stuff. I love this quote mostly because it is totally true. It goes hand in hand with the most recent edition of one of my favorite columns in triathlete mag from one of my favorite bloggers/athletes – Jesse Thomas.

In his column Jesse talks about the pressure, nervousness, and self-doubt that is common before and during a race and how he deals with that successfully. In reality, these things, especially self doubt, can be present throughout the journey to a specific goal, throughout the training process for a race, or even in our everyday jobs. (What? There’s external pressure in my job? nooooo.)

Picture thanks to chinadaily.com…This is supposed to be a geo-political cartoon, I think…I find it hilarious either way. Job pressure and running pressure combined!

To me, this quote is the answer to all of this. I think a short way to sum it up is the old saying “Fake it till you make it”. The important thing, and challenging thing,  is that sometimes you have to fake it to yourself. i.e. positive affirmations. Not to bring up gymnastics again, but I’m not a seasoned enough “racer” (I use that term lightly) to apply a running example. In college my coach would not let us say negative things in the gym. Nada. No “I’m so sore today”, no “I don’t like this floor mat” and DEFINITELY no “I can’t do this workout”.

Now, some people didn’t totally buy into that, but I took it to heart, and I would say the OPPOSITE of whatever negative thought I was thinking. i.e. “I feel GREAT today!” “This workout is going to be so easy!” I would also say it OUTLOUD, which I think is important, though may be impossible during, say, a 5k. I truly believe it made a difference, and I really need to start applying this to my running.

You obviously can’t truly “fake it” though, you have to follow it up with all the normal things that lead to success – hard work, sticking with it, and doing the right things outside of the running. Like not walking 5 miles sightseeing the day before  a race or getting out there for that long run even though you’d rather spend the day on the couch watching NCIS reruns. Not that I’ve done either of these things.

I think Jesse’s column took this a step further and delineated some of the important things to do before and during the race that illustrate the discipline/persistence/hard work area. Creating a pre-race schedule and a race plan are very important things that I have NEVER DONE for a race. I’m going to try it for the Philly Half and I’m very excited. I think even more than giving you a nice plan to follow so you’re not out till 10pm trying to figure out where to eat, the pre-race schedule allows you to focus on what you can change and forget about things out of your control. For me, thinking about what’s next on my schedule will keep me from thinking/complaining about external things that I can’t really do anything about.

Also, I know one of my race plan goals will be to load up on the positive affirmations during the race. For example, when I feel like dying and/or puking around miles 8-10 (hopefully not before?) I am going to say to myself “You are awesome, you got this.” “the pain means you’re running fast” and maybe a little “my legs are so strong!”.

I’m also wondering if the following are positive enough to be considered positive affirmations: “the faster you run the faster it’s over” and my all time fave “breathe in strength, breathe out pain”. Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

