Hurricane Sandy makes me lazy

OK first off, my heart goes out to all the East Coast-ers who actually experienced Sandy in all her wrath. I’m praying for all those in NY, NJ, CT, MA, PA, DE, and VA who are dealing with serious flooding, damage, no power, and the aftermath of a crazy storm.

We got the light version here in Cleveland and it was still “oh my gosh when is this wind/rain going to stop!?” Almost every school in the CLE has been canceled for today and most of the west side is out of power. Currently the wind is still raging and it is literally an act of God that we still have power.

Arrows are pointing to the downed trees on my street, blue lines are the power lines that somehow remained unscathed when said branches fell.

Most of our town and the surrounding towns are without power which means an unexpected vacation day! Yay! Unfortunately this weather (it’s been raining since Friday afternoon and crazy windy since yesterday) gives me a serious case of the lazies. Literally, since my long run on Sunday morning (in the cold/wind/rain, I might add) I have done very little to qualify as being “productive”. Actually, scratch that. After the LR I decided my goal for the day would be to execute an all-star recovery plan. And execute I did.

First I put my feet up on a wall for 10 minutes (actually more like 15 because I got sidetracked). Then I stretched. Theoretically the next step would have been an ice bath but considering I had just run in one for an hour and a half I moved on to the less effective but much more desirable hot shower. What, a hot shower is not recommended for recovery? Oh, my bad. The shower took a little longer than anticipated because I had to remove the rats nest that had accumulated in my hair

yummy. this picture really doesn’t do it justice. p.s. my hair is usually much longer than that, it was just all knotted up in itself.

Next I decided to put the juicer hubster got me for my birthday to use and I made the following for my recovery beverage:

Abbey’s recovery juice

  • 2 beets
  • 1 apple
  • 2 carrots
  • 1 inch fresh ginger

I poured it over ice and got to drinking. Note: I used 2 pretty large beets and not enough ginger to mask the beet-y-ness of it. I kind of had to gag down the last little bit of the juice but the first 3/4 of the glass was quite tasty.

yummy yummy beet/carrot/apple/ginger juice. Take that inflammation!

I donned my compression socks and made a nice tasty tuna sandwich on Udi’s G-free bread with some Farmer’s Market veggie jack cheese and spinach. And then I sat my little butt down on the couch and reclined for an afternoon of relaxing napping and watching football. Solid recovery day Abbey.

I will say, there is something to be said for good recovery. I did, in fact, feel ready to run on Monday even though it was my hardest (cough cough, remember this is relative) week of running since my return to consistent running back in September. I am someone who is admittedly crappy at recovery most of the time. Despite my education and background I have been known to wait over an hour and a half to refuel after a long run, to forego stretching both before and after runs, and to follow up a 20 mile training run with 8 hours on my feet at work. So from now on I’m going to try to make a consistent effort to do the little things that really can make a difference.

Positive Reinforcement

I’ve done a lot of thinking about my upcoming half marathon, which is both good and bad. My fitness is really significantly further along than I thought it would be, and given my performances on a couple of runs (specifically on 6×800 workout where I improved my times by an average of 5 seconds per rep since january) I really think if I run this half smart I could come close to PR-ing. I decided to run this race for epilepsy research though, and I don’t want to take away from that by trying for a time goal. I really want to run this race in honor of those who struggle with controlling their seizures, those who are unable to run, not on running 8:0X miles.

I think the way to do this is to develop a solid race day plan with proper mid-race goals and then execute. Today is probably a great day to work on this plan and hopefully I can get it done so I have the next 2 1/2 weeks to tweak it.

While training for my last marathon (National Marathon 2010) I learned something about myself – I do much better when I break up training into bits (weeks, certain workouts, etc) and I also become infinitely  more productive when I attach little rewards for the completion of things I feel are going to be difficult (i.e. long runs). During that training period each long run over 16 miles had a little reward attached to it (a massage, a new pair of shoes, new running gear, etc) So I’m going to use that same protocol for the upcoming half.

Totally unrelated picture – Tessie does not like the weather Sandy has brought us either.

Once I get a solid race plan/goals I’m going to make up my idea of 1st and 2nd place finishes for myself. We all know there is no way that this mid-packer is going to get anywhere near an age group finish so I’m just going to make my own! I’ve already got the prizes tacked down though:

1st place: Oiselle Totally Trials Hoodie
2nd place:  Oiselle Rundelicious Top

Now I just have to figure out the goals! Off to spend some time on the trainer in lieu of a run and then I’m tackling the race day plan!

Stay safe, east coasters.

Leave a Reply

