So What’s Next?

The Philly half marathon is over, and it’s left me with a fire to keep the consistency train rolling and run faster and race more. So what’s next? I’ve been asking myself the same question for the past week and a half, and after way too many hours researching on marathonguide.com I think I’ve come up with a loose plan.

What I did at work this week, besides surf for marathons...take winking selfies. I swear I'm a grown up.

What I did at work this week, besides surf for marathons…take winking selfies. I swear I’m a grown up.

It’s hard for me to make definitive plans on some most races because I have to wait and see what my spring work schedule is like (I work odd hours, nights, weekends, etc. So what I’ve been doing is mapping out different race plans, all of them culminating in a late spring/early summer(?) marathon.

One thing I really want to do is the Hermes Cleveland Road Racing Series. You race in at least 7 Hermes races and your points get added up and you can win prizes! How fun!? This is also perfect because it will help me attain some of my goals for 2013 (keep reading). Most of my spring races will have to be local anyway because I want to save my “let me miss work for this marathon” shpiel only once.

Here are the marathons that I’m considering :

1. Eugene Marathon 4/28/13 – Eugene, OR
I love everything about this race. Or everything I’ve read about this race, given I’ve never been to Oregon, much less run this marathon. Cons: it’s the first weekend after hubster’s work season ends and I’m not sure he’d want to travel to Oregon.

2. Oklahoma City Marathon 4/28/13 – OKC, OK
I’ve heard awesome things about this race as well, and we have friends in Oklahoma City that I haven’t gotten to visit yet so it would be a super fun trip for the hubster and I. Cons: I’m scared about the weather. Period.

3. Dick’s Sporting Goods Pittsburgh Marathon 5/5/13 – Pittsburgh, PA
Initially I was thinking about the Goodlife Toronto Marathon but then read really bad reviews and got worried. I’m not real passionate about this marathon but would be willing to run it if all else failed.

4. Cleveland Marathon 5/19/13 – The CLE
I do a lot of planning for this for the medical side of things so I really really don’t want to run it, it’s basically a last resort. In addition, the two years we’ve lived in CLE the weather has been completely awful on race day (40’s and rainy and then 90’s and burning hot).

5. Grandma’s Marathon 6/22/13 – Duluth, MN
The lateness of this race really worries me, but I have heard really good things about the race and a late June marathon would give me plenty of time to train hard and increase my mileage to where I want it to be.

Alternates:
Glass City Marathon – Toledo, OH
Buffalo Marathon- Buffalo, NY

Any and all feedback on any or all of these marathons is greatly appreciated.

Goals for 2013

I’ve also been doing a lot of thinking about what I want to accomplish and I think it’s important for me to lay it all out into cyber-space to keep me accountable. First lets talk about the non-time-specific goals:

  • Consistency. Increase and maintain my weekly mileage without getting hurt. After 15 years of gymnastics I have the body of an old woman, quite frankly. Add to that the fact that I have, in the past, let life get in the way of running, and consistency is something that has seriously been lacking the last few years. My immediate goal for December is to average 30 mi/week and then bump it up to 40 in January, building a solid base for Operation Marathon 2k13.
  • Race More. I really really want to try my hand at some of the shorter distances (5k/10k) this year and put myself out there in a place to improve. I think there is definitely a place for 5ks in a marathon training schedule, using them as fast finishes to long runs or in place of a speed workout one week. I want to learn what it means to wear the pain face.
  • Get a Coach. More on this soon hopefully! 🙂 #purposelyvague. But seriously, I think it’s time for me to enlist the help of runners/coaches more seasoned than myself who can look at my work and make smart decisions (hello I made my own training plan last year and ended up with a stress fracture).

Now lets get specific. Here are the times I want to beat this year:

  • Mile: Sub- 6:30. My current mile PR is a 6:35 on a road (not track). I’m not sure I’ll get to race a mile so this may have to be done via time-trial on a track or mapped out piece of road. 
  • 5k: Sub 23:00. I really want to get better at the 5k distance in general. I’ve only run one actual 5k race (and one time trial on the track by myself) and I want to get a few more under my belt.
  • 10k: Sub 48:00. The only 10k I’ve ever run was a trail 10k so I need to get out there and hit the pavement to get an idea of what I can do when there aren’t 9000 feet of elevation change along the course. (I may be exaggerating a tad but there were a boat-load of hills).
  • 10 mile: Sub 1:20:00. Definitely do-able, considering my 10 mile split at the Philly half was a 1:21:01.
  • 13.1: PR. (Sub 1:46:19). See above.
  • 26.2: PR. (Sub 3:51:49). BRING IT.

Help Me Out…What marathon should I run?

10 thoughts on “So What’s Next?

  1. Hey! First, my biggest distance in a race is a 10K, signed up for the Quarter Marathon and that’s not much more but the last thing I’d want to do is run a race that I wasn’t really interested in. You’re paying to run this race and you want to be able to say “I ran such marathon and loved it from the moment I registered”.
    Check out RunwithJess.com. Jess is running the Eugene Marathon and she’ll put her training plan up soon hopefully. Maybe you can talk to her about the marathon and help you get closer to a decision.
    And 1:20 on your 10 miler sounds completely doable.
    Best of luck on your goals!

  2. I think any of those are great choices, honestly — I would chose which is most feasible logistically or financially, but if that doesn’t matter, just chose the one that makes you the most excited! I am doing the Eugene Marathon.

    On another note, I love having a coach — I’m almost TOO used to not making my own schedule now and get a little lost without the “RC”

    • I signed up for Eugene this week!!! So excited! I figure if something crazy happens the Glass City marathon (closest to me) is only $70 to register (hidden gem!?)

      Um yeah I’ve only been through one week with a coach but I LOVE having one. It’s so nice to not have to think and just DO. And to be able to trust the process 🙂

Leave a Reply

