#OperationMarathon 2k13

It's on like Donkey Kong

It’s on like Donkey Kong

That’s right folks, I’m officially registered for the Eugene Marathon. On April 28, 2013 I will {God willing} be at the start line of my 3rd marathon, more prepared than ever, poised for success and ready to run my little heart out. It’s been a promising start to the training cycle and I am so excited for what’s in store!

Certainly, I’m looking forward to toeing the line in Eugene. Actually, that’s an understatement, I’m salivating over the idea of running the Eugene Marathon. As Jocelyn put it, it is the Justin Bieber of Marathons this year. But it also sounds perfectly suited for me – midsize marathon, running through beautiful Oregon, and finishing on a track….but not just any track, HAYWARD FIELD. THE track. Someday I hope to make it there as a spectator watching the Olympic Trials, but in the meantime I’ll be perfectly content ending a marathon on it.

Oh Eugene, I can't wait to meet you!!!

Oh Eugene, I can’t wait to meet you!!!

Signing up 4+ months ahead of time for a marathon (or any race) is rare for me. I have commitment issues when it comes to actually shelling out the cash and writing my name in stone as a participant in a race. I put in two 18 milers and a 20 mile training run before I signed up for the National Marathon (before it was severely overpriced and on the Rock N Roll tour). But recently I read a quote (and immediately wrote it down in my BelieveIAm journal) that has hit home for me in a big way:

If you want something you’ve never had, you’ve got to do something you’ve never done.

I can’t remember where I got that, but I think it was maybe a tweet from Lauren Fleshman? Note to self: Write your sources down. Anyway, it’s an awesome quote and one that I’m taking to heart for this Eugene Marathon build-up – and really for my life, and running, in general. Even just a week in to this build-up I’ve identified and put into play some things that I’ve never done before:

1. Run more mileage per week, consistently. Get this folks: I am already running just 5 miles less than my peak week for my last marathon. Yes, you read that right. I feel like I say this every other post on this blog, but since going gluten free I have noticed a HUGE change in my ability to recover from a workout. Old Abbey couldn’t run two days in a row if one of those days was a track workout/tempo run/anything remotely challenging because she would feel like she got run over by a truck. And after a long run? Forget it. Sometimes had to take 2 days off after those. Gluten Free Abbey ran a kick-ass Tempo run on Tuesday and felt like she could have run again that afternoon, comfortably. It’s seriously night and day, and it’s exciting to be able to tolerate more volume. Gluten Free Abbey is able to run 5 days per week and feel good. It’s awesome.

2. Get a coach. For more than half my life I have had a coach, but I’ve never had a running coach. Before now I thought it was silly to have a coach…I mean, I’m not a super fast runner. I’m competitive in the sense that I’m a competitive person, but I’m not going to win any race anytime soon. I have all the basic knowledge to run/increase mileage properly/create workouts to stress the aerobic or anaerobic systems. But the one thing I don’t have is the ability to look at my workouts unbiased, without my goals/dreams/plans in the back of my mind, and make good sound decisions on the next step in training.

So I took Molly Pritz up on her tweet offer and so far it has been worth every penny. It is awesome to get sound advice from an intelligent, successful runner and have weekly plans and honest feedback delivered to my inbox filled with workouts with correct “right for me” paces. The schedule is challenging enough that I feel like I’m making solid improvements and yet not so hard that I’m overwhelmed. It’s awesome.twitter

3. Get serious Put a little thought into recovery. Trust me, I know how important recovery is. I know exactly what happens when you don’t recover properly, and I educate/encourage my own athletes to be smart about recovery. But in the past it’s been this : me? I don’t need to eat right away following a 15 miler activity. Stretch after a run? Nahhhhh. Put my feet up on the wall for 15 minutes? That takes too long. This time around though I’m doing things right. I’m putting my feet up on the wall for at least 10 minutes after each difficult run, I’m stretching after EVERY run and I’m doing my best to eat/drink at least something immediately after I run and eating a good meal within 90 minutes. I really, really REALLY don’t want to get hurt.

And as I upload this photo I remember that I did not, in fact, put my legs up for 10 minutes after today's workout...oops.

And as I upload this photo I remember that I did not, in fact, put my legs up for 10 minutes after today’s workout…oops.

Some Thoughts From #OM2k13 Week 20

1. I just spent 15 minutes trying to decide if I should call it week 1 or week 20…Oy vey.

2. This week I learned what a true “recovery run” feels like. After a great track workout on Friday I ran 5 easy miles on Saturday during which I felt like poop. Everything hurt, I was slogging along, and everything felt out of whack. Then, with half a mile left, life crept back into my body and I started to feel good again. The next day I felt awesome and had a great long run…so that’s how that works!

3. 36 miles felt strangely easy. I’m not sure if that’s a good thing or a bad thing…Week 20/1 was so good I feel like it can only go downhill from here… (though so far Week 19/2 is going just as well 🙂 )

4. If global warming does exist, and it is the reason for me being able to run 11 miles in shorts and a light long sleeve (and being warm!) on December 16th then I am a fan. Too bad there’s snow in the forecast and I may need snow shoes for long run #2…

5. Compression socks are my new best friend. I really need more than 2 pairs. I should probably just buy stock in ProCompression. But seriously, compression socks make my legs feel yummy. And even though the research doesn’t say anything definitive, I can tell you that these puppies definitely help me with recovery.

So cute and so comfy.

So cute and so comfy.

5 thoughts on “#OperationMarathon 2k13

  1. I am also running Eugene – see you there! I have had a RC for 2 yrs now and I love the unbiased feedback and how I don’t have to plan that aspect of my life (beyond logistics). I haven’t started back training yet but will sometime in 2013. Happy training!

  2. WAHOO EUGENE!! I like having a Running Coach because it gives you one less thing in life to worry/think about. Everyone is so busy with their day, that it just makes life easier. Congrats on getting Molly! Can’t wait to see your progress.

  3. Pingback: Where I’ve Been « eat good, live good, feel good

  4. Pingback: A Humble Return | eat good, live good, feel good

Leave a Reply

