Where I’ve Been

Oh hey blog peeps! It’s been a while, mostly due to the fact that when I go home to NC I enter into a vortex that has very little time for any kind of computer/interwebs/social media related items. I even eschew the phone, and according to Hubster, am very difficult to communicate with.

I’m not sure why that is, but I think it has something to do with the fact that I rarely get to see my family, so when I’m around them I just want to be in the moment, enjoy the company, and play games/visit/laugh/go on walks to the creek with them. P.S. I pronounce that “crEEck” not crick. You get a crick in your neck, a small river is a creek.

This is a creek.

This is a creek.

I know that since it’s December 31st January 1st I should be doing the obligatory “what I wanted to achieve in 2012, what I actually achieved, and where I want to go in 2013” post, but you know what? There’s time for that later and I don’t really feel like writing about it right now. So there.

{insert face sticking tongue out and saying nany nany boo boo}

Instead I’m going to give a nice list/pictograph of what I’ve been doing for the past week and a half that didn’t involve the computer (except for my mom and I perusing Pinterest for a while one day):

I had some good runs, and I had some bad runs, but I appreciated all of them. 

Before my particularly snowy but especially awesome 6 miles with 4 at MGP...

Before my particularly snowy but especially awesome 6 miles with 4 at MGP…

I went on walks to the creek with my favorite four-legged friends and the fam. Living on a farm definitely has it’s perks. I’ve never seen Tessie so happy to be running around free from a leash, letting her little nose take over.

Mom, Cousin, Auntie, and lots o' doggies

Mom, Cousin, Auntie, and lots o’ doggies

Me and my Daddio

Me and my Daddio

Family Selfies - my parents were fascinated with the whole backwards camera thingy on the iPod

Family Selfies – my parents were fascinated with the whole backwards camera thingy on the iPod

I had exactly 2 dinners with Hubster. One was a date and one at his holiday Christmas party. Sadly Hubster’s job and the holidays don’t really mesh well.

Date night with the Hubster!

Date night with the Hubster!

I played a lot of Bananagrams. And I even won a couple rounds! If you’ve never played this game, you need to. It’s fun, fast paced, and always leaves my family laughing.

Hibiscus tea and Bananagrams...a fantastic end to any day.

Hibiscus tea and Bananagrams…a fantastic end to any day.

One of the winning rounds...brought to you by the word BOOB.

One of the winning rounds…brought to you by the word BOOB.

I spent a lot of time with a lot of dogs. In all, there were 9 dogs between my Grandmother’s house and my parents house, + my dog and my cousin’s dog. That’s a lot of dogs. They outnumbered the people some days!

Tessie and one of my parents dogs, Zuko...They were best buds the whole trip.

Tessie and one of my parents dogs, Zuko…They were best buds the whole trip.

My parents other dog, Princess Sadie. Actually her name is just Sadie but she is the Princess of the house.

My parents other dog, Princess Sadie. Actually her name is just Sadie but she is the Princess of the house.

I spent a lot of time in the car. 18 hours, to be exact. Both days I left before the sun rose. I also spent far too much time at creepy gas stations in West Virginia. I-77 really isn’t a hot bed of normalcy from Cleveland – Charlotte.

Sunrise somewhere on I-77 in Ohio.

Sunrise somewhere on I-77 in Ohio.

I made 20 mini loaves of pear bread as gifts for Hubster’s work. TWENTY. That’s 5 batches. After a 13 mile HARD long run. In addition to attending a holiday party, packing for home, and exchanging Christmas presents with Hubster. I also left the oven on all night after making said bread. Ooops. Luckily we still have a house.

I finally booked my lodging for the Eugene Marathon. Currently, I’m staying at a hostel! I’ve never done that before, I’m hoping I don’t regret it, but at $33 per night for my own private room I just couldn’t resist! I’m going to do a little more digging and research before I decide to definitely stay there though…I’ve read a couple iffy reviews so I’m not sure if I should trust them or not. Any feedback is appreciated! I’m always up for an adventure and I don’t need to stay in a castle but I want to feel 1. safe and 2. bug-less aka clean.

I remembered what it’s like to run on country roads without sidewalks among cars who are not used to having runners on the road. My first run at home was done on a rainy evening right around dusk so my  mom wouldn’t let me out of the house without this gem on:

Ready to not get hit by a car and get laughed at by all who pass me :)

Ready to not get hit by a car and get laughed at by all who pass me 🙂

#OM2k13 – Thoughts from Weeks 19 and 18

I’ll end this {un} enlightening post with my thoughts from weeks 2 and 3/19 and 18 of training.

1. The “global warming weather” that allowed me to run my first long run in shorts totally disappeared. My long run yesterday was run in my new Oiselle Sherpa on streets because the sidewalks were covered with snow and ice. Sad face.

Oiselle Christmas: With Ma in her Stripey and I in my Sherpa...

Oiselle Christmas: With Ma in her Stripey and I in my Sherpa…

2. My paces are slowly emerging. I have slowed down considerably on my “easy runs” and running hard on my “workout” days. I’ve come to enjoy the slowness of the easy days out of necessity. Yesterday’s long run had the slowest pace I’ve had on a long run almost ever up until the last 3 miles, then I was able to turn it on and find another speed. It felt great!

3. Running in snow and icy slushy water sucks. Plain and simple. It might be a long couple months. Also I need to invest in some better gloves. Cheap cotton ones from Target aren’t cutting it (though when paired under Hubster’s nike gloves they’re actually quite effective).

4. I do not like sport beans. More accurately, I do not like the sport bean packaging. It pisses me off. I ran out of gels and realized this 5 minutes before last week’s long run (13 miles) so I took the sport beans. The problem was that I couldn’t get the resealable package open while running (or even while stopped at a light!). After trying for 30 sec or so I would get pissed off and shove the thing back in my pocket. I didn’t buy gels over the last week so yesterday I had the same problem, and only took in 3-4 beans on each run. Strangely, I felt pretty good on both runs. It’s making me re-evaluate my fueling situation. Maybe I’ll switch to every 6 miles instead of my previous every 5 miles? Something to play around with for sure.

How do you fuel? OR Tell me your favorite holiday moment from the last 2 weeks.

6 thoughts on “Where I’ve Been

  1. I’m terrible at fueling during a race. Pre- and Post- race, I’m a professional fueler. So I have zero advice there.

    But I’m so glad you booked your hostel! We must email about flights because Meggie and I are renting a car, so if you need a ride let us know. (obviously major hanging out will be happening – Sucks if that wasn’t in your plans. Because it’s HAPPENING.)

    • UM I’m just glad that YOU were aware major hanging out was happening because otherwise things could’ve gotten awkward 🙂 I’M SO EXCITED! I’m slightly stressed about the hostel situation…I’m going to call the travel peeps in Eugene tomorrow to talk to them. I just don’t want to be staying in a place I’m going to lose sleep over you know?

      Also, so glad to hear you’re getting a car, I was thinking about doing the same, so thank you so much for the offer! #teameugene all the way!

Leave a Reply

