A post of the non-running variety

OK, here at EGLGFG there’s been a whole lotta running talk going on for the past couple months. And I love it. It’s not going to change. But today I felt the need to shake things up a little bit and write about some non-running related things.

Like my awesome social life – Oh wait, I pretty much eat, run, eat, work, eat, watch tv/read/some other form of escape/sleep/repeat. Not that there’s anything wrong with that, but my social escapades are few and far between. Some people might call me lame, I like to call it “relaxed”.

What I look like most nights of the week, minus the lavender velour quilted jumpsuit...Which I totally would rock if I owned one.

What I look like most nights of the week, minus the lavender velour quilted jumpsuit…Which I totally would rock if I owned one.

Or I could write about some of my tasty kitchen escapades – Oh wait, there haven’t really been any worth writing about. I’ve been on the “think of every meal that is quick, simple, relatively healthy, and gluten free” kick lately. Though I do plan on trying this roasted apples and pork recipe from Runner’s Kitchen, it looks a-maz-ing. OH and on NYE I definitely had a lot of mexican cheese dip that was made with Velveeta and ro-tel tomatoes. Very delicious and very not healthy for you. But did I mention it was delicious?

Oh velveeta, so wrong and fake and processed on so many levels but soo tasty with the right ingredients {in moderation}

Oh velveeta, so wrong and fake and processed on so many levels but soo tasty with the right ingredients {in moderation}

No, I can definitely write about my chic fashion sense and that cute outfit I wore the other day – Oh wait, my “work outfit” is khaki’s and a polo 98% of the time and I am more apt to drop a hundo on cool running clothing from Oiselle than the latest and greatest from 5th Ave. (or, you know, wherever the fashion is)

But I can talk about how I cried during the movie Ted the other night – Yep, that really happened. REALLY ABBEY!?!? WTH??? If you’ve seen the movie {SPOILER ALERT} it was the part where Ted gets ripped apart and “dies”…apparently I have a soft spot for vulgar womanizing drug using talking teddy bears. Sheesh.

Go ahead Ted, look upset all you want, but I really didn't enjoy your movie. It just wasn't that funny.

Go ahead Ted, look upset all you want, but I really didn’t enjoy your movie. It just wasn’t that funny.

And that’s the extent of my non-running life… Seriously I’ve been busy with a lot of work-related stuff lately (boo) and the combo of that plus getting into the nitty gritty of marathon training has left me with little to write about that won’t get me a featured post on GOMI.

Oh wait! My New Year’s Resolution(s) Goals(s) –– cue groans of “OMG it’s January 7th, I thought I’d read my last ‘Look at me and all the cool things I’m going to do this year’ post!”– Well, you’re in luck (sort of): This year I’m not doing the normal Year in Preview and Review. Instead I have one goal and one “theme”. I’ve never really been into the whole “resolution” idea and if, during the course of the year, I see something I want to do or something that needs changed I do it, or make it a goal then. Quite honestly you can never know where life will go and I feel like you shouldn’t look back on the year as a “failure” because you didn’t meet your goals, which you didn’t meet because your life went in a different direction. Is that new age-y or what!?

2013: A year of running

That’s my theme for 2013, and hopefully the years beyond, but specifically this year. I want to focus on continuing to practice consistent running, and racing. I want to achieve some running-specific goals I’ve had for quite some time. I want to develop my running friendships and Bazinga the pants off the Eugene Marathon. Etc Etc yadda yadda yadda. More on this, um, like 90% of the posts from now until forever.

And my ONE goal for the entire year of 2013:

Organize my house/life and keep in clean(er) and uncluttered. Yep, that’s it. That’s the thing I need to improve on the most. Well, it’s one of the things. It’s the thing I’d like to improve on the most.

yes, yes it would. But I refuse to pay for a maid, and thus, my 2013 goal.

yes, yes it would. But I refuse to pay for a maid, and thus, my 2013 goal.

If you could only have ONE goal for the whole year, what would it be?

3 thoughts on “A post of the non-running variety

  1. TO GET RID OF HALF OF MY CLOTHES. Go all fung shui, less is more, and such. I always feel like I have too little space to put my stuff so I think instead of continuing to try to create more space out of no space, I should just get rid of some of my stuff. When I was out in California, I only had stuff I need for 1 week at a time or so — 5-7 work outfits, 5-7 running outfits. It was so nice having less stuff. I always try to get rid of things then get all sentimental about them or “its still cute, I might wear it.” OMG – this is totally a first world problem. I feel so superficial now. But, still, less stuff!

  2. Hahaha I have to laugh at the TED part, only because I swear I cry and the most random things too. I haven’t seen TED yet, but I bet I would be sad too…probably because he is a teddy bear and those are supposed to be cuddly.

    • Honestly I found the movie quite depressing for some reason lol. I think I took the whole thing too seriously. I cry at random stuff too though, every time the sarah mclaughlin animal commercial comes on I turn the channel IMMEDIATELY.

Leave a Reply

