Eff You, Snow…and thoughts from OM2k13

So the past 24 hours 7 days have been very “Typical Cleveland Winter” ish…

The sea of snow that I woke up to on Friday - there should be a driveway and a road in there somewhere

The sea of snow that I woke up to on Friday – there should be a driveway and a road in there somewhere

On Friday I woke up to 6+ inches of snow and, thankfully, a day off of work. After spending 1+ hour shovelling the driveway, cleaning off the car (because I was too dumb to put it in the garage) and letting Tessie play in the snow I took my scheduled progression run indoors, obvious choice. Miraculously, it was the first non-DNF treadmill workout I think I’ve ever completed and I had a great run. Then Saturday, with 4 easy miles, I thought “oh I’ll just wake up early and get it in before work”.  4 easy miles can’t be that bad right?

See? Aptly re-named on my Garmin Connect page...it was therapeutic to write that and now I smile every time I see it.

See? Aptly re-named on my Garmin Connect page…it was therapeutic to write that and now I smile every time I see it.

WRONG. Turned out to be the worst 3.3 miles to date of this training cycle. I mean WORST. I am pretty sure that thanks to more fresh snow on the ground, on top of older snow, my first mile was upwards of 11 minutes. ELEVEN MINUTES!?!? Kill me now. I almost stopped right then. Everything hurt, it was F-ing cold, my legs felt like shizz, and I could not imagine 44 minutes of running to cover a measly 4 miles. I got halfway through my planned route and scrapped those plans. Finally I found myself on a semi clear road for the last 1.5 miles but when I ended up back at my house with .7 miles left I realized I just didn’t have it in me. So I stopped, had a little pity party for myself, and then moved on. Forgot about it. Figured that life’s too short to wallow over one run that didn’t go absolutely perfect.

***Warning*** Another Pity Party coming up, read at your own risk.

I hate the snow. I have reached my “OH MY GOD WHERE IS SPRING I CAN’T TAKE THIS ANYMORE” moment 1.5 months early this year. And I know why: This year I’m actually running in it. For once I’m committed, focused, and hungry to work hard and get faster. While the rational side of my brain says that running in these crappy conditions will make me a better runner the irritable and ornery side of my brain says that I’m sick of the cold, sick of the snow, sick of having frozen hands and wet feet and salt dried on the back of my pants. Sick of having icicle mascara on after 400 repeats in heavy snow. Sick of having no voice when I get back from long runs because the air I’m breathing is so cold. I’m just sick of it all! Go away cold weather! BLECK! OK, whine-fest over.

See? icicles on my eyebrows and eyelashes. WTF snow.

See? icicles on my eyebrows and eyelashes. WTF snow.

One of my tweeps has a good point though:

A wiser Cleveland-er...thinking long term

A wiser Cleveland-er…thinking long term

And if I have to run through 2-3 months of miserable weather to have it be nice on race day, I’ll take it.

Thoughts from #OM2k13 Weeks 14-12

  • I would not have gotten through the last two weeks if not for twitter and all my #sistersinsport sharing my weather pain, treadmill pain, etc. I hope I get to meet all these speedy ladies IRL someday, I owe them a big thank you for helping me stay motivated and focused throughout this weather.

    I've got nothing on this tough chick...she's running her winter in VERMONT. I would die.

    I’ve got nothing on this tough chick…she’s running her winter in VERMONT. I would die.

  • I was super excited to welcome this awesome runner to the great city of Cleveland this weekend! The weather got in the way of a run together so we opted for a warm beverage and it was so fun to meet her. Good times to come for sure.
  • I’m getting excited/nervous for my upcoming 5k (NBA Fit Run/Walk/Dribble; 2/16) and that in itself is really exciting to me. The fact that I have nerves, that I care about how the race ends up means that I realize and believe that I have the potential to run fast, faster than I’ve ever run before. I feel my competitive side coming out and some of the things I feel are things I haven’t felt since my college gymnastics days. I’m trying not to think too hard about things and just let my legs do the work, but I know it will also be good practice for #teameugene race day as well – mental toughness, handling nerves, etc. Bring it on!

    Speaking of the NBA, guess what game I got to see on Saturday night? OH only the one where the Cavs beat OKC, which for you non-NBA-followers is kind of a big deal.

    Speaking of the NBA, guess what game I got to see on Saturday night? OH only the one where the Cavs beat OKC, which for you non-NBA-followers is kind of a big deal.

  • While I know I’ve been making significant gains in fitness and all in all I’m having a fantastic training cycle, I still find myself comparing {me} to {other bloggers/runners} when I don’t keep my thoughts under control. For instance “oh no, she ran the time I want to run in x marathon but in her training she ran x, y, and z, way faster than I am”. So far I have been pretty good at squashing those thoughts out almost immediately after I have them, I know they are 100% harmful and 0% helpful. I am working at what I feel is close to my hardest, and that is all I can do. I must run hard, train hard, recover smart, eat well, get plenty of rest, pay attention to niggles, and keep my brain sharp and strong. Then on race day the chips will fall where my work has pushed them. That is one of the beautiful things about running – not every run must be perfect, it is the combination of all your training that adds up and presents itself on race day.

    ART on the couch is also an important component...Thank goodness hubster is an athletic trainer and will occaisionally treat his wif...

    ART on the couch is also an important component…Thank goodness hubster is an athletic trainer and will occaisionally treat his wif…

  • One of the things that has surprised me about running with a Garmin is how un-emotional I have been regarding pace (most of the time). As a non-Garmin runner I often wondered if seeing my pace all the time would hurt me, if I would become too fixated on it, or if it would limit me (i.e. I see a pace on the watch, think OMG that’s too fast/slow for me, when in reality it wouldn’t be). I’ve found that often when I look down at the watch I take in the pace, process it, and then file it away and go back to focusing on the actual run. I use the lap avg pace mode most of the time, which really works well for me. I feel that the important thing about using a Garmin is knowing yourself as a runner, and then using the Garmin in ways that help you. It has definitely been a fun tool to add to my training and I’ve gotta admit, I feel a little bit like a “legit runner” when I wear it. Lol how silly is that?

How do you get through winter running?

Leave a Reply

