OMG a new EGLGFG recipe!!!

And now, for the first time in probably 8 months, A new EGLGFG Recipe!!!

Background: While in Portland I dined from a fabulous food truck called The Whole Bowl. Immediately, I was in love. How would I ever enjoy this meal again!? I feared it un-duplicable. And, quite honestly, my recipe is lacking the “secret sauce” which definitely adds another dimension, but when I tried to replicate the dish 2 weeks ago I was surprisingly pleased with the result. Pleased enough that I want to share it with you! In all it’s glory:
The “Faux” Bowl Recipe:
Serves 2.5 Runner Appetites or 3-4 moderate Appetites1 c. Rice
1 1/2 c. water
3/4 can red beans
3/4 can black beans
Seasonings to taste: Salt, Pepper, Turmeric, Garlic Powder, Onion Powder,12 oz bacon – If desired, I have to use this so Hubster will eat it. It’s good either way thoughSalsa
Sour Cream
4 oz. can of sliced olives
1 ripe avocado
Fresh Cilantro, chopped – approx 1 T per bowl or to taste
Shredded Cheddar Cheese

Boil water and rice. When water level is even with rice (rice is almost 3/4 way done) add beans and seasonings, continue cooking until water is fully absorbed. Set aside.

Meanwhile, if using bacon go ahead and cook that in your usual method (broiling/microwave/frying – I fry, don’t judge, I’m from the south). Rip into smal pieces and stir into rice and beans to let flavors meld.

Fill a bowl with your desired amount of rice/beans/maybe bacon mixture. Top with a couple spoonfuls of salsa, however much avocado slices you want (i usually do 1/4 to 1/2), 1/4 c. cheddar cheese (or desired amount), 2 T sliced olives, and 1 T of fresh chopped cilantro. ENJOY! The great thing about this recipe is you can add more of something if you like it and less of something if you don’t.

The REAL whole bowl, hubster took a picture of my "faux" bowl, but then dropped his phone in the toilet a couple days later...oops
The REAL whole bowl, hubster took a picture of my “faux” bowl, but then dropped his phone in the toilet a couple days later…oops

I honestly was shocked that hubster liked this dish as much as he did. It was a total hit, and while it is NOT as good as the REAL Whole Bowl, it’s pretty darn close to it! And while in Cleveland, it’s the best I can do.

Leave a Reply

