The 9th Inning

Holy. Crap.

It seems like so long ago that I was training hard for the Eugene Marathon, so excited to really knock the walls off of the 26.2 distance for the first time in 3 years, and then again it also feels like yesterday. It’s hard to believe that anytime in the next few weeks I will be a mother. To be completely honest the whole idea that I will be bringing a little human into the world is just now starting to sink in… or maybe it’s more of all the things that come WITH bringing a little human into the world…like being the one person that this little baby will depend on for everything.

Finally got the safari decals up on the wall...Unfortunately now they keep wanting to come OFF the wall. Anyone have tips on getting non-sticky decals to stick?!?

Finally got the safari decals up on the wall…Unfortunately now they keep wanting to come OFF the wall. Anyone have tips on getting non-sticky decals to stick?!?

As my stomach gets bigger and bigger (How is it still getting bigger?!) I find myself being somewhat nostalgic about the last 8 months and also getting more and more excited for the arrival of Baby S. Here’s a little update on how things have been going:

State of the Union, 37.5 Weeks:

Energy: Strangely, I’m still feeling really good. even though I’m pretty sure I’m definitely waddling a bit at this point and I’m also definitely into the awkward stage. I really seem to have the most energy I’ve had this whole time, and I’m definitely in the nesting stage: doing my best to organize, clean, and prep everything that needs to be organized, cleaned, and prepped. Unfortunately I was NOT previously an organizer, cleaner, or prepper, so the list is lengthy. C’est la vie!

Exercise: Exercise wise things are a little all over the place. I’m walking every day and I try to make it to a formal yoga class once a week and stretch/strengthen on my own a couple of times too, but try is definitely the operative word. I came down with a cold last week and definitely did not make it to yoga. I’ve also had a new development of some CRAZY pelvic pain (see below) and I really have trouble balancing on one leg these last few days so I’ve been relegating myself to squats, planks, lots of stretching, etc. And lets be honest if I have a really active day running around cleaning and such I count that as exercise. Beggars can’t be choosers at this point, right?

Weight Gain: I’ve held strong at 30/31 lbs for the last 3 weeks, which is weird because I can guarantee this little babe has grown a LOT in those weeks. I have been starving the last few days so it will be interesting to see what the scale says at el doctore tomorrow morning.

New Developments: I do notice that I am definitely more clumsy. I have had a serious case of the dropsies lately, which unfortunately meant the end of the screen of my phone. Luckily I had a screen protector on, but I’m really depressed that now I have a permanent spiderweb emanating from one side of my phone. I’m also bumping into things a lot and I almost face-planted on the sidewalk the other day after rolling the crap out of my ankle while walking the dog- Not my most graceful moment for sure, and also a teensy bit scary. Additionally almost every single one of my shirts now has a stain on the belly. The thing is so big it just catches everything that falls!

Complaints: OK honestly, I will take every single one of these things I’m about to “complain” about over the extreme vomiting/nausea/fatigue that was the first 20+ weeks of this pregnancy. People ask me how I’m doing and I honestly have to say “GREAT! I feel GREAT!” Because really, I do. Apparently I do much better with physical pain than I do with nausea and vomiting. That being said, my pelvis and low back are pretty miserable right now. I literally look like an old woman when I go from sitting/laying to standing and then try to walk. I think everything is just stretching out but I have some serious pain when I try to balance on one leg. I tried some one legged exercises yesterday and about fell over it surprised me so much. I’m also seeing a return of heartburn and some discomfort when I try to sleep but again, all in all, I feel pretty dang good for 37.5 weeks preggo.

Contractions: OMG yes. AND I LOVE THEM. I am pretty sure they’re just braxton hicks and they don’t hurt really, only a little if I’m walking when I get one. I get several a day usually and it just makes me so excited because I feel like my uterus is just getting itself all ready for the big day.

Other Random Prego Thoughts:

It’s also funny/interesting to look back at pictures and remember how I felt at different parts of the pregnancy and how I feel now. Honestly, I think it took my a while to realize that the reality of pregnancy was not going to be the same as my perception of how I thought I would feel while pregnant. I think I was fighting the fact that I wasn’t going to feel like my unpregnant self and focusing a lot on how different/bad I felt. Granted, I was really sick and puking for a long time and I think that had something to do with it as well, but I also think I was trying to have too much control. News Flash: you really don’t have any control when you’re pregnant, that baby takes what it needs and your body takes over and does what it wants. Also, I think no matter what round two of pregnancy will be easier than round one. Even throughout the course of this pregnancy it’s amazing how much less stressed/worried/freaked out over every little thing I got as time passed.

When I look back at pictures generally I think something like this: “wow, I felt so large and uncomfortable then, yet I am almost double that size now and feel LESS uncomfortable and LESS large” …until it takes me 3 1/2 minutes to get up off the couch or out of bed and then I think “OK maybe I do feel a little larger”

Throwback pic from 25.5. weeks...

Throwback pic from 25.5. weeks…

 

Aaaand a couple weeks ago, I think this was 35.5 weeks, so 10 weeks of growth right there folks!

Aaaand a couple weeks ago, I think this was 35.5 weeks, so 10 weeks of growth right there folks!

Lauren recently wrote about how she hasn’t been feeling mentally tough at all, and I definitely had similar feelings up until recently. Then I realized that {for me} mental toughness in pregnancy (and, I’m guessing from what I’ve read, labor) is different that mental toughness for sports. I think when it comes to the art of pregnancy and childbirth it’s more about mental acceptance – accepting that your body is going through lots and lots of changes/pains/discomforts and that growing this human is hard work, accepting that you are going to be uncomfortable in a way different than you’ve ever felt before, and accepting that you have to just let your body do it’s thing. Instead of fighting and pushing your body the way you would in a race or a hard training run, you are embracing the changes and accepting them. Does that resonate with any of you “been there done that” moms?

I also am absolutely itching to run again. To recap, I pretty much stopped running when I got sick/started puking at week 7 and I ran a cumulative maybe 3-4 miles between weeks 13-15 before I realized that it really just didn’t feel right to me and decided it wasn’t something I was going to push. If I’m being completely honest, I didn’t really have any desire to run until maybe week 27-ish. I think that is when I finally turned the corner and began feeling more and more like my old self until week 32, when I was really chomping at the bit to go for a nice hard run. That feeling hasn’t gone away since, and while I know it will be a loooooong road back, a part of me is relishing the comeback. I’m looking forward to seeing just how hard/painful/awkward/slow that first mile is and enjoying the journey back to feeling as fluid and strong as I was feeling pre-knocked-up-status.

One thought on “The 9th Inning

  1. Funny the difference 4 weeks can make — I’ve been having a lot (which I suppose is a relative term..I just mean a few every day) of Braxton Hicks contractions lately and I kind of hate it. Mostly because I keep thinking “it’s too early baby/uterus!! Simmer down!” But maybe my uterus is just trying to get in shape for the big event. And when my time finally does come, I’ll have a quick/painless/eventless labor (wishful thinking, I know).

    I love how you differentiated mental toughness in pregnancy from mental toughness in sports You make an excellent point – in pregnancy, it really is about acceptance. In running it’s a lot less so. You feel exhausted but you don’t just accept that your body is outside of your control – instead you assert power over it and tell yourself you’re so much stronger than you think. In pregnancy there are certainly times when you have to be stronger than you thought you could be BUT, a lot of it is accepting that you are NOT in control. I think that can be a really tough adjustment for many people, especially those that consider themselves athletes (or at least me…).

    Anyway, glad to hear you’re feeling good (despite the pelvic/low back pain). You’re getting close! So excited for you!

Leave a Reply

