The Waiting Game

So the little baby is still in my belly, holding strong at 40 weeks and 2 days! As much as I attribute every little change these days to “omg labor is about to start” there is a part of me that thinks the little guy/girl is pretty dang comfy where he/she is right now…

This was last week, at 39 weeks. Back when I was feeling a little too comfortable.

This was last week, at 39 weeks. Back when I was feeling a little too comfortable.

At this point there’s really not much to say, on this blog or elsewhere. My weekly appointments have reached the level of predictability where I know to the second how it will go: Check in, go pee in the cup, weight ($#@%!), blood pressure (always 100/60 + or – 4 for either number), non stress test (“baby looks great!”), tape measurement (“looking good”), visit with midwife that generally talks more about random other life things than impending baby (which I am TOTALLY OK with), make appointment for next week thinking “Well, hopefully I’ll get to cancel it”. I did find it strange, and a little frustrating, that they brought up induction/the baby being late at my 38 week appointment. I understand that it’s good to have conversations and be prepared since things can change quickly but because of that I’ve felt like I should be having the baby before 40 weeks. So I’ve been trying to keep in perspective that really there is nothing wrong with being 2 or 3 or even 5 or 6 days late (as long as baby/etc are healthy in there).

The good news is that I’ve been really uncomfortable the last few days, because up until then I did feel like I was a little too happy to be almost ready to deliver a baby! Now I am definitely ready to get this little guy or girl out of my belly and into this great big world. Bring it on.

I finally stopped working on Thursday and my mom and I celebrated with a DELICIOUS dinner. She’s been staying with us for the past two weeks since Hubster is gone a lot and it has been so wonderful to get to spend time with her. I’m still walking every day and doing as much stretching as I can but I’ve definitely slowed down…a lot. Which again, I’m pretty sure is a good thing at this stage in the game. I can’t really expect to be feeling awesome now can I !?!?

Mashed potatoes, pork with quinoa stuffing, salad, sparkling juice. YUMM-O!

Mashed potatoes, pork with quinoa stuffing, salad, sparkling juice. YUMM-O!

And that’s all I’ve got. Come on out baby, we can’t wait to meet you!

Leave a Reply

